Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Wow! This is delicious! As other reviewers suggested, I used 1 cup of melted butter instead of the 3/4 cup and added 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I think that this really made a difference in the yumminess of the dessert. I also had to bake it for approximately 1 hour 15 minutes, which is a little longer than the recipe calls for. I made it for my Mom's birthday and served it with a big dollop of whipped topping. Make this...you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I've made this pumpkin cake many times, but I use a spice cake mix. What a spicy treat--everyone loved it better thank the yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Move over, pumpkin pie! So easy and soooo good. I have made this cake twice, and I prefer to use pecans instead of walnuts. For some reason this cake is much, much better if it sits a day or so before serving. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I make this recipe all the time. However I've done a couple of things differently. I add about 2 teaspoons of cinnamon with the pumpkin pie spice. I also use Almonds in place of the walnuts. I top with cool whip and sprinkle the cool whip with toffee bits...it's fabulous, and I never come home with leftovers when I take it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe! I love how fast and easy it is! Next time I think I might substitute some brown sugar for some of the white sugar and cut the butter into the cake mix and then sprinkle on top of the pumpkin. It's a great recipe as is, but for me, I think those changes would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
The pumpkin part turned out GREAT but the cake topping was only ok. If I make it again, I will increase the melted butter to a full cup. Half of the cake topping was still powder with the nuts burnt while the other half had absorbed the butter and the nuts sank into the cake. I spread the butter as evely as I could but it just didn't seem to be enough. Overall it was pretty good, very delicious "pumpkin pie meets nutty cake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
It seems like people are using a cup of butter, but I actually used less than 3/4 cup. It still came out good, but it was A LOT better 2-3 days after. The top was hard and crunchy the first day, and difficult to cut coupled with the soft pumpkin base (maybe because I used less butter). But a few days later, the top had softened and it was so good I couldn't keep my hands off of it. The guests seemed to enjoy it as well, unfortunately they only tasted it the first day it was made. I'd recommend this, but make sure to make it a day or 2 in advance, and next time i'd use less cake mix on top so the pumpkin flavor can stand out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made this for my company Thanksgiving party and everyone raved about it(well, everyone except those who don't like pumpkin). I used a cup of butter like everyone suggested and when it first came out of the oven it was swimming in butter but after about 10 minutes it sets up beautifully. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking and added a little bit of salt to the pumpkin mixture to cut the sweetness. Very good recipe. A definate keeper!! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I took this to a Church cooking group meeting and everyone loved it. I did add a lot of extra spice to the pumpkin mixture. I added a tablespoon of Cinnamon and a tsp of cloves in addition to the 2 tbsps of pumpkin pie spice called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
FANTASTIC!! This recipe was so easy and really yummy! I used a spice cake mix instead of the yellow and added 3 tsp. of cinnamon. I chopped up pecans to put on top of the cake mix and then used 1 C. instead of 3/4 C. melted butter to drizzle over top. In addition, I drizzled a vanilla glaze over the top. I will be making this recipe for many years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States