Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I have made this dessert and it's good. There is another way that has less fat and so I now use a 28 oz. can of pumpkin and make it in the same size pan and also only use a single size cake mix, (smaller than the pkg'd) and only use 1/2 cup melted butter and have the same amount of compliments and the serving sizes are ample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very good but there are better pumpkin desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We are big pumpkin fans, but this one didn't hit the mark. We won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Yum! I made this exactly as written, and it was excellent! This got more attention on Thanksgiving than the pumpkin pie. It does get mushy in the refrigerator so if you can't finish it in a couple of days, I suggest halving the recipe. Adding this one to my holiday recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Definitely a keeper :) I've made this twice now, & it was delicious both times. I did try it with both quantity options of butter (1 c vs. 3/4 c) Better with 1 cup & 1 tsp of cinnamon added nice flavor. I forgot those changes the 2nd time I made it, and it was missing a little zip :) Make a few days ahead of time...definitely improves with a few days time in the fridge. (I wouldn't hesitate to make it if you are running on a last minute basis, just better if you can make in advance!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
LOVE this dessert! I have made it many times and it ALWAYS gets rave reviews! Made it again today but decided to try it with fresh pumpkin (from a pie pumpkin, about 2 cups), a spice cake mix and pecans- it is delicious this way too! Other than that I don't change a thing. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream, or room temp with whipped cream. One suggestion- I sift or stir my cake mix before I sprinkle it over the pumpkin to make sure it spreads evenly. You and your guests will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I tried cutting the margarine into the cake mix and crumbling it on top of the pumpkin mixture. Disaster! The cake mix part totally sank into and was absorbed by the pumpkin mix, resulting in a very cake-y texture throughout. It tasted okay but was a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Made this for thanksgiving! Delicious!!! Used yellow cake mix, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is by far my favorite dessert for the Thanksgiving season! Ive been making it for 3 years now and I have people calling asking me for more! One hint to perfection, cinnamon whip cream! Cool whip makes it during the holidays and its amazing on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have made other pumpkin deserts that were difficult due to the fact that you were to turn it upside down(NIGHTMARE) or you had to scope it out which is fine but I'd rather not. This recipe Was perfect!! I did make it the day before as suggested and it cut into squares perfectly I and I do think the flavors mingled better the next day. I adjusted some of the flavors by pinches because I was afraid of it being too sweet or not sweet enough. I felt it was sweeter then I would of liked but EVERYONE LOVED it. Will be my one and only pumpkin desert!! Oh yeah....I told everyone it was an old family recipe! I want them to beg me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States