Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. It is basically the same one my neighbor taught us to make growing up and I never get tired of it!! Suggestion: Here is one thing that would help with the crust problem people are having. Instead of melting the butter, grate it and spread it evenly over the cake mix. This way when it melt it spreads on its own and keeps the cake mix from sinking. I hope this helps. I also think it needs to be cooked a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is delicious! I only changed the butter to 1 stick and cut it into the dry cake mix, rather than melting it to drizzle on top. I like both walnuts and almonds on top. Also I used a lemon cake mix which didn't interfere with the pumpkin flavor and actually brightened it up just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I tried this yesterday and it turned out awesome! I followed the recipe exactly, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I am not a big fan of pumpkin (but I will eat it). On the other hand, my family LOVES PUMPKIN PIE etc... I made this dessert, my 8 year old son and I tasted it and thought that it was just OK. I chilled it in the fridge for a few hours and the two of us thought it tasted MUCH BETTER. When the rest of my family came home, they tried it and DID NOT LIKE IT. I gave some to my PUMPKIN LOVING Mother, and she was not thrilled. SORRY, but this was not a hit with my NON PICKY FAMILY!!! I actually made it to try out on my family before bringing to a school function and I decided that this would NOT be the dessert to bring. SORRY, we just weren't fans! I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
So yummy!!!! I ate a piece as soon as I took it out of the oven. I did read the reviews and used 1 cup melted butter. All I had was white cake mix which worked fine. I had no pumpkin pie spice so I used a 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp each of allspice and clove. WOW! New favorite dessert, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I was having a huge pumpkin craving, and I ended up having everything in the house for this dessert, and everyone loved it! The bottom is just like pumpkin pie, with a cake on top. I did change a few things, though. I melted 1 cup of butter, and mixed it in with the cake mix. It was no longer a crumble, but actual batter. I just poured that on top of the pumpkin pie layer, and just let it sit. While baking, it spreads, so the whole thing is covered. Also, I did not just used nuts for the topping. I combined cinnamon, brown sugar, and an assortment of chopped nuts. It was like a streusel on top! Very delicious, and it took me under 10 minutes to make and put in the oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Wow! My pumpkin Pie for Thanksgiving has just lost its place. My husband said, this is better than any pumpkin pie I have ever eaten. Lets not have pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving ever again and just eat this instead. I said sounds like a winner to me. I made this EXACTLY as stated! This will be not only my recipe for Thanksgiving now but will also be my Potluck dinner recipe to take in the Fall/Winter. LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This easy recipe is amazing! I used less butter than the recipe called for. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I have made this recipe with yellow cake mix, cinnamon swirl cake mix and spice cake mix. All are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States