Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is the only dessert my husband has requested I make again! He is a one track chocolate dessert guy, but this simple and delicious recipe is now at the top of his list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is similar to pumpkin cobbler with a much easier crumble topping that magically manages to partially fall through the pumpkin layer for a great taste combination. I doubled everything in the pumpkin mix, added one pkg Jello Custard Pudding & Pie filling and still used the 13 x 9 x 2 pan. It made a much thicker pumpkin layer (yum). I lower heat to 300 and baked for an extra 10 minutes. The one pkg of yellow cake mix was plenty; however next time I think I'll cut in the softened butter to a crumble mixture, rather than pour melted butter over the top of the dry cake mix. Some spots were real brown and powdery where the cake mix didn't get moist. All in all, a great pumpkin dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I enjoyed this. I only used 1/2 cup butter in order to reduce the fat. Next time I will mix the butter with the cake mix before adding to the pumpkin, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Was a easy recipe with Great results. If you like pumpkin pie you will love this. Truly a wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is unhealthy goodness! My friend made this once and we were addicted to the buttery topping. I was shocked when she shared the recipe and I realized how simple it was. I make it as is except for the nuts as my hubby doesn't like them. He is however crazy for the dessert, even asking for it in lieu of a cake for his July birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
really great recipe. also works really well with apple pie filling instead of the pumpkin mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wonderful!! And sooo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfry, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
It was super good! Just totally unhealthy. Next time I would cut sugar in half as well as the salt - the cake mix has more than enough of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I served this up at a barbeque/party last night and everyone was just raving about it! I added extra spices - 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp all spice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg (maybe a bit more), and 1/2 tsp cloves. I also used white cake mix instead of yellow and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was really looking forward to this dessert, since the ratings were so high. I wasn't a huge fan. It was ok; but I found areas where the dry cake mix didn't cook as well tasted very salty. You also need to eat it warm - the pumpkin part doesn't taste very good cold. I'll stick with pumpkin pie, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eunoia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States