Great Nana's Secret Ingredient Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
yummy, what a nice date bread! i brewed fresh ground 8 o'clock columbian coffee, substituted 1 cup all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour & used pecans in place of walnuts (what i had on hand). great flavor eaten as is or with cream cheese. thanks for your great nana's recipe, lauren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is a DELICIOUS recipe. I really enjoyed the coffee flavor in the background! I substituted pecans (just don't care for walnuts) and next time I would add just about 1/4-1/2 cup extra flour, as the center of the loaf collapsed while cooking. I also let my date chunks sit in the coffee for about 15 minutes & in that time, they pretty much dissolved - which made a very smooth batter. Flavor is superb. Very easy to make. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Good tasting recipe. I used half flour and half whole-wheat flour in my test. My kids made this in small loaves for teachers gifts at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for a gathering at work and everyone was asking around to find out who made it. It was all gone in a matter of minutes. Super moist and delicious. The coffee adds a certain something to the flavor that makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was delicious! I also halved the recipe the first time and I ground the walnuts rather than chopped them. The bread was moist and had the coffee flavor in the background. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
WONDERFUL! Change nothing! This is absolutely THE BEST date nut bread I've been blessed to make and enjoy-wow! My hubby and kids loved it too. Froze 2nd loaf for quick breakfast treat when school starts next week. Adding to my FAVORITES collection for sure. Thank you for sharing your greatt Nana's "secret" with us. BLESSINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIZCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
An excellent quick bread with a unique secret ingredient! I used 3/4 cup sugar as my dates were moist and sweet (medjools). I would cut the coffee with water when I bake this again. I brew VERY strong coffee with dark roast beans. The coffee flavor was quite pronounced. A more dilute coffee flavor might better enhance the date/nut flavor of the bread. Thank you to Lauren and her Great Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Gal Benron
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
The cake was extremely temperamental. It seemed like there was too much liquid to be absorbed, so instead of using the whole 1 3/4 cups of coffee, only used one. It was still very liquidy. Instead of baking it for an hour, I soon realized the cakes were browning way too fast, and had to shorten the time to 40 minutes, at 150 C. The taste was similar to the tradiotional Jewish honey-cake. Since I don't like that cake, I didn't like this cake either. I presume date-lovers will love it, since I was very moist and sweet, but overall- I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this is a very tasty and moist bread. I do not put nuts in though, don't care for them. flavorful and very nice with some butter. delicious! a real keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Prepared batter exactly as directed, except I doubled the walnuts. I thought the batter had too much liquid, but it backed up nice and moist. I did pull it out of the oven at about 47 minutes. Very good, especially with cream cheese on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States