Great Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Following the cooking instructions worked perfectly for me as far as cooking time and consistency go. (Although if you like it goopey you'll probably have to add more milk/water) I added cayenne pepper, black pepper and garlic powder because it needed more flavor. And then i covered it w/bread crumbs and baked it. I used sharp cheddar cheese- 2 cups. it's very sweet (too sweet for my taste) and very onion-y. It's easy, and pretty good.. but it needs doctoring. Perhaps less onions next time (and i love onions- but in this recipe they are sweet because they are cooked in milk and butter). after some tweaking, I'll make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This mac and cheese is better then any I have tasted. It is very creamy unlike other mac and cheese that you bake. I always have ingredients on hand and who can beat using just one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was good and easy. My son and husband enjoyed this. I added the milk slowly like others suggested and I think that helps with the "grainy-ness". Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
What an easy mac and cheese recipe! It uses ingredients I have on hand and doesn't take much more time than the box varieties. But OH! what a difference! This is extremely creamy and rich. I topped mine with some crushed goldfish crackers (for the kids). Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Super yummy, I have made this many times, I like the thickness of it. It is even better when adding multiple cheeses. I added parmesan, swiss, cheddar, and colby and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
this was an easy recipe to make. even though i didnt have the macaroni so i made it with shells instead but it still came out good.everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
WHERE HAS THIS RECIPE BEEN ALL MY LIFE??? it was superb and tasty beyond anything!!!! i did cut back on the milk a teeny tiny bit though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charmedsherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Good recipe. Second time around though we cut back the milk and used 2 cups Extra Sharp Cheddar. And browned bread crumbs in alitte butter to sprinkle over the top. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I am a working mother who likes fast and easy meals, but not boxed mac and cheese because you really don't know what half the ingredients are. I like to make mac and cheese the way my Mother made it, but often the milk would get hot, or the cheese would burn. This recipe is easy, fool proof, and my kids love it MORE then boxed mac and cheese! I heated the milk at the same time I cooked the onions. This is so I could add the onions in the same time I did the (whole wheat) noodles. It cut about 10 min off the cook time! Making it about as fast as boxed mac and cheese! Easy, fast, cheap, and healthier then boxed mac and cheese.. a definite do over! (I did add extra milk and cheese, so it wouldn't be so grainy like the previous entries suggested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
The taste of the onion was kind of overpowering in my opinion. But I didn't have any problems with the results other then the taste. I might try it again with less onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States