Great Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe. I cannot account for all the poor reviews below. Possibly the grittiness is in response to packaged sauces. Homemade sauces are almost never as smooth as commercial ones because most home recipes do not call for soy emulsifiers and the like. Anyway, I added a chopped garlic clove and half a teaspoon of dry dill as well as upped the cheese to probably roughly two cups (I kept adding till it tasted right, native Wisconsinite, gotta have my cheese) Sharp cheddar is a must if you are looking for strong cheesy taste as milk will water down weaker cheeses. Would have given 5 stars but I had to add my own stuff (dill etc) to make it a 5 star dish ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I loved this recipe! All I had in the fridge was a smoked cheddar, which turned out fantastic! It made it taste like there was some bacon added too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the best mac & cheese I've ever tasted! I doubled the recipe, used 1% milk, half the amount of onion and slightly less flour. I also had different cheeses in so I used white cheddar, monterey jack, swiss, gouda and havarti. I've been trying to duplicate Trader Joe's frozen mac & cheese (so creamy and yummy!) which uses a mix of these cheeses and this recipe tastes even better! I stirred the roux while slowly adding the milk and when it was time to add the cheese, I added that slowly too (off heat) while stirring like some of the reviewers suggested. I think that really helps keep it smooth and creamy. Also, when you add the flour, let it cook (while stirring) for about 5 mins or so to cook out the flour taste. I love onion but next time I'll add even less (just personal preference). Thank you for a great, easy, one-pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuttyMeg
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
when making baked mac n cheese all you need is macaroni or shell noodles, regular bag or medium size box of noodles, (small) boil until done . Drain, add tblspn of butter (optional) add whatever cheese (shredded ) into hot drained noodles mix until melted add about a 1/2 cup of mik, mix, dump into preheated of (450 degrees) let it bake until the top of the mac n cheese is golden brown. This is all u need. Putting flour and crackers is to much junk for the trunk, lets keep simple. yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I added bacon which was good. But will have to agree with others very grainy also the cheese to pasta ratio was off will not try again. Im lookin for that boston market mac and cheese yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was the first mac and cheese I have ever tried (I live in Europe and I have never tried any thing like this) and I have to say it's amazing! I pured more milk in the pan so the macaroni cooked nicely and I put some corn at the end. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was very delicious! I loved the thickness and it was VERY cheesy. I do think that you should add a little extra milk as others have said. I think next time i will add some bread crumbs on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great concept...I as many others found it to be grainy. I also subbed the cheddar for shredded mexican blend cheese & added 1/2 can of chopped green chili peppers at the end. I will make it again but I think I will pre cook the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is it! I have been looking for years for a good mac & cheese recipe that uses real cheese not processed. This is nice and creamy, not grainy. Followed recipe exactly. Yummy, yummy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
L-O-V-EEEE this recipe! ,ac and cheese lovers all over the family, and everyone always wants more. dew are allergic to the actual onion though so i used a sprinkle of onion poweder. all around great food to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States