Great Grilled Smoky Vegetables with Avocado and Goat Cheese Crumbles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
You MUST make these!! They are awesome and will impress everyone. My picky in-laws (but I don't like goat cheese..) loved them, my 13 year-old son (mom, when can we have those grilled vegetables again?...). Very easy to substitute depending on what veggies you have on hand. Have made this 5 times, here are my suggestions: slice the onion THICK or they will get lost. add zucchini (quartered lengthwise) and/or asparagus, eggplant is good also. MOST IMPORTANT: PUT SOME BALSAMIC IN YOUR MARINADE, THEN ADD GOOD/HIGH QUALITY BALSAMIC TO SOME OF THE REMAINING MARINADE TO DRIZZLE ON THE GRILLED VEGGIES. The avacado is optional but the goat cheese and FRESH basil are a must. Addistional suggestion: on the chance that you have leftover veggies, cut them up and add to sauteed onion and garlic, throw in a can of diced tomatoes and some grilled, sliced chicken sausage. Simmer to desired consistancy and serve over pasta with additional cheese. I now make extra veggies every time, just so we can have the pasta. Did I mention I like this receipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Absolutely amazing! Like another said, I'm dreaming of the next time I have this! I made the recipe exactly as above except I mistakenly added the balsamic vinegar while marinating instead of after grilling - but it was so good I don't think I'd try it the original way. We used the suggested ingredients, plus zucchini (quartered lengthwise), yellow bell pepper, and eggplant sliced into 1/2" rounds, all good. The red onion is a must, it is a wonderful flavor complement to the other veggies. My suggestion, make a lot, especially if you're feeding more than 3 or 4 people - it'll be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I'd give this 10 stars if I could! This is BY FAR the best recipe for grilled veggies I have ever tried! Hubby agrees too! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I used more cayenne (probably around 1/4 tsp - even that wasn't spicy). For the grill seasoning I used Montreal Steak Spice and used slightly less than called for. I'm already dreaming of the next time I can have this! I wouldn't change a thing! I love the sweetness of the peppers combined with the freshness from the basil and creamy goat cheese and avocado. This is the kind of recipe that will thoroughly impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is an incredible recipe! I used zucchini, yellow squash, green & red pepers, red onion and asparagus. As some had suggested .. I used fresh basil and included the balsamic vinegar in the marinade. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this dish, and frankly, I believe it to be the best vegetable dish I have ever had....my wife thought so as well. I used 6 cloves of garlic...and more basil, After grilling, I put it in the oven on 300 for 5 minutes, just to make sure it was hot. Paired it with a Grilled Flank Steak.....Bon Appetite....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclark6262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We grill veggies a lot, but last night I wanted something different and a little more special--I was not disappointed with this recipe. I used 3 mushroom caps halved, two red bell peppers quartered about 3/4 of a medium red onion, 8 or so asparagus stalks and a large avocado. Just about perfect for 4 large helpings. I may have not used the full amount of goat's cheese, but rather sprinkled it over the platter of vegetables until I was satisfied with the presentation. Also, we grilled the veggies for about 15 minutes on the top shelf of the grill--they would have been underdone at 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These are soo good!!!!! Ive been looking for a great grilled veggie recipe and now I have found it! I left out the avacado and added zucchini. These will be made a lot at our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnahinu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I usually only try recipes that have been rated, but I was looking for a grilled veggie recipe that was a little different, and this fit the bill. Despite burning a few of the veggies, it turned out wonderfully and was even better for leftovers the next day. Here are my changes: I used a bag of sweet mixed (orange, yellow and red) peppers instead of bell, mostly because it was cheaper and I wanted more color. I only used 3 mushroom caps which I quartered. I used McCormick montreal steak seasoning for the grill seasoning because it was what I had on hand. I eyed the balsalmic vinegar and probably added a little extra bc I love balsalmic, but probably added too much as it got a little too tart the longer it sat- so I'd say use as directed, if not less. I also added asparagus as I needed to get rid of some and I skewered the vegetables for the grill. Everything else was the same. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great with whatever you've got on the grill, even without the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
SO good! I think I could eat this every day and not ever get tired of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States