Great Grilled Smoky Vegetables with Avocado and Goat Cheese Crumbles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I usually only try recipes that have been rated, but I was looking for a grilled veggie recipe that was a little different, and this fit the bill. Despite burning a few of the veggies, it turned out wonderfully and was even better for leftovers the next day. Here are my changes: I used a bag of sweet mixed (orange, yellow and red) peppers instead of bell, mostly because it was cheaper and I wanted more color. I only used 3 mushroom caps which I quartered. I used McCormick montreal steak seasoning for the grill seasoning because it was what I had on hand. I eyed the balsalmic vinegar and probably added a little extra bc I love balsalmic, but probably added too much as it got a little too tart the longer it sat- so I'd say use as directed, if not less. I also added asparagus as I needed to get rid of some and I skewered the vegetables for the grill. Everything else was the same. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These are soo good!!!!! Ive been looking for a great grilled veggie recipe and now I have found it! I left out the avacado and added zucchini. These will be made a lot at our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnahinu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We grill veggies a lot, but last night I wanted something different and a little more special--I was not disappointed with this recipe. I used 3 mushroom caps halved, two red bell peppers quartered about 3/4 of a medium red onion, 8 or so asparagus stalks and a large avocado. Just about perfect for 4 large helpings. I may have not used the full amount of goat's cheese, but rather sprinkled it over the platter of vegetables until I was satisfied with the presentation. Also, we grilled the veggies for about 15 minutes on the top shelf of the grill--they would have been underdone at 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I'd give this 10 stars if I could! This is BY FAR the best recipe for grilled veggies I have ever tried! Hubby agrees too! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I used more cayenne (probably around 1/4 tsp - even that wasn't spicy). For the grill seasoning I used Montreal Steak Spice and used slightly less than called for. I'm already dreaming of the next time I can have this! I wouldn't change a thing! I love the sweetness of the peppers combined with the freshness from the basil and creamy goat cheese and avocado. This is the kind of recipe that will thoroughly impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Can you say party in my mouth?? Wonderful flavors that I thought were weird at first, but man did I love this. I thought the avacado didnt really fit into the mix, but I tried it anyway. I wont be adding it the next time, but surely will make this again. FYI I normally dont make any recipes that dont have at least 300+ reviews, but the picture captured me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Absolutely amazing! Like another said, I'm dreaming of the next time I have this! I made the recipe exactly as above except I mistakenly added the balsamic vinegar while marinating instead of after grilling - but it was so good I don't think I'd try it the original way. We used the suggested ingredients, plus zucchini (quartered lengthwise), yellow bell pepper, and eggplant sliced into 1/2" rounds, all good. The red onion is a must, it is a wonderful flavor complement to the other veggies. My suggestion, make a lot, especially if you're feeding more than 3 or 4 people - it'll be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I am just learning to cook and have been trying to branch out and try new things. I made this dish last night. I used mixed bell peppers, onion, tomato and zucchini. I added the goat cheese and avocado at the end. It was very good, but definitely didn't look like the photo. The avocado and goat cheese formed a green goo over the veggies. I guess looks aren't everything because it was a delicious side dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was so, so good! I grilled the vegies for about 10 minutes because I wanted them a bit more done. I only put a little bit of the remaining marinade on after they were grilled because I didn't want to mask the great natural taste of the vegies. The onion and red pepper were slightly charred... just enough to bring out their natural sweetness. The goat cheese was a perfect blend with the vegies. I didn't have any avocado, but I will definitely add that next time. I think that this, with some nice grilled garlic bread, would be a filling meal. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was fabulous. I made it for a cookout and everyone raved about it. I used sweet onion and feta, since that's what I had. Will be making this often over the grilling season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Served this tonight and everyone simply LOVED IT. I substituted zucchini for the mushrooms since my kids won't eat mushrooms. My husband liked it so much he insists we serve it at our July 4th barbeque. The only note I would make is that I wouldn't call it smoky vegetables; there was no smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States