Great Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is really a beautiful salad, with lots of contrasts in flavor and texture. The dressing alone is worth giving this salad a shot! Just an awesome, classic vinaigrette, although I did alter the oil to vinegar ratio to 3:1 to suit my tastes. I also omitted the sugar for the same reason. At the submitter's suggestion I threw in a couple of extras - celery for texture and crunch, and kalamata olives for a punch of flavor and contrasting color. The feta and sliced almonds were definitely the crowning touch. A thought on the garlic - you've gotta be a garlic lover on this one, and insist that your hubs or significant other eats this as well - it is potent, but delicious! Not wanting to bite into chunks of garlic, I chose to mince it very finely rather than chop it as the recipe directs. I used butter lettuce rather than the mixed greens which made this a very "sturdy" salad for lack of a better way of describing it, tho' I'm sure the submitter would agree any lettuce or salad greens would be perfectly suitable. I felt good serving as well as eating this salad - not only is it pretty and delicious, but it's so heart healthy! Eating this you felt like you were really doing something good for yourself (as well as your tastebuds!) This, along with crab cakes, made for a light but satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
i have made this many times and it is thoroughly delicious. i don't change a thing it is perfect as is. don't worry if you don't have almonds, avocado or feta, it is yummy just plain on salad greens. but all together is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I have made this recipe several times for company and am always asked for the recipe. I tried it with half spinach, half lettuce, and dried cranberries most recently and it was great. Walnuts also work nicely if you don't have almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
The first time I made this salad, my husband said, "This is by far the best salad I have ever had." And I'm going to make it all the time now! And it's easy once you get all the ingredients out and measured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
The dressing is delicious! Add a little at a time for best taste, then more on the side if desired. Highly suggest adding pears when in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
We had this salad with ham and it went perfect together! Everyone loved it. I did add a touch of honey to cut the bite of the mustard but not enough to taste. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Fabulous - all my favorite ingredients! I followed the recipe as written. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This salad was light and refreshing. The only thing I changed was the cheese. I used shredded parmesan. It gave it a "Ceasar" feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I loved the dressing for this salad. I used walnuts instead of almonds and it was a big hit with my friends! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
What a delicious, tangy, garlicky dressing! It was pretty strong combined with the feta, though--next time I'll reduce it. I added zucchini and used chopped hazelnuts (forgot to buy almonds). Next time, I'll add black olives and red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States