Great Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is really a beautiful salad, with lots of contrasts in flavor and texture. The dressing alone is worth giving this salad a shot! Just an awesome, classic vinaigrette, although I did alter the oil to vinegar ratio to 3:1 to suit my tastes. I also omitted the sugar for the same reason. At the submitter's suggestion I threw in a couple of extras - celery for texture and crunch, and kalamata olives for a punch of flavor and contrasting color. The feta and sliced almonds were definitely the crowning touch. A thought on the garlic - you've gotta be a garlic lover on this one, and insist that your hubs or significant other eats this as well - it is potent, but delicious! Not wanting to bite into chunks of garlic, I chose to mince it very finely rather than chop it as the recipe directs. I used butter lettuce rather than the mixed greens which made this a very "sturdy" salad for lack of a better way of describing it, tho' I'm sure the submitter would agree any lettuce or salad greens would be perfectly suitable. I felt good serving as well as eating this salad - not only is it pretty and delicious, but it's so heart healthy! Eating this you felt like you were really doing something good for yourself (as well as your tastebuds!) This, along with crab cakes, made for a light but satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
A really lovely salad, my husband loves it so much he is always asking me to make it. I have also done it with crispy bacon bits and also tried it with prosciutto as well. Yummy!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Easy to make and very tasty to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Super easy and delicious! I added chopped chicken breast for a heartier lunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
ohhh gosh, i made this salad for valentines dinner and man could not get enough of it, will make it again and again, i did not change a thing on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Not too bad, although this salad is definitely begging for some different color. I wasn't too impressed when I'd assembled it--everything except the almonds kind of blend together visually. I think it would be much better with some craisins, and tossing in some tomatoes would help too. It wasn't that memorable; the dressing was fine (I halved it) but not memorable and the salad itself was the same. I'd definitely need to jazz it up a bit in order to make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made the dressing with yellow mustard since I don't have or particularly like dijon mustard. I also added about a 1/2 to a full teaspoon of honey. I served it over a salad of greens, tomato, cucumber, green bell pepper, avocado, and some grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I thought it was good; however, everyone at the dinner party I brought it to raved about it and asked for the recipe. They give it 5 stars - but I'll stick with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Made this exactly as directed and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Outstanding recipe and unusual chunky dressing. Only thing I would change is omit the salt since the Dijon mustard adds alot anyway. I tripled the lettuce but you do not need to triple the dressing- just double it. I had some leftover when tripling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States