Great Grandpa's Garlic Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I have been making a very similar recipe to this for years. I don't care much for dill so I use sour pickles that I have to buy from Best Maid over the 'net' because they are hard to come by where I live. I do use minced garlic then let them set for a week stirring once a day, then again, I make a greater volume than this using a 5 lb bag of sugar so it takes some time to get all the sugar desolved. Try chopping some of these pickles into a relish and add to deviled eggs, tuna salad, chicken salad, etc. We love using these pickles every chance we get! Even adds a nice touch to a big ole juicy brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent! My daughter eats these with her grilled cheese. Everyone I have made these for go nuts for them. If you like pickles and a little spice give them a try. You can also adjust the recipe to your taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly McCutcheon-Seabolt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are excellent!!! We now always have them in the refrigerator. Thanks for sharing your Great Grandpa's recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
the best pickles ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These are so delicious - I can't stop eating them. They taste even better after a week. Many friends have asked me for the "repickling" recipe. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made a few changes to this to fit my taste and what I had on hand. I used a 32oz jar of generic brand whole dill pickles. I took them out and sliced them into half inch chunks. I put the chunks back and added 6 halved garlic cloves within the slices. I mixed the brine with 2 cups of sugar and maybe a teaspoon or two of hot sauce. They were a delicious sweet and spicy dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were really good - I ended up using a 24 oz. jar of pickles because I couldn't find the 16 oz. size, but used the original ingredient amounts. They're delicious - and, I didn't have the pepper flakes on hand, but the tabasco added the perfect amount of zing. Lov 'em and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I am the poster of this recipe and I am not sure why an important step was taken out of the publishing. The pickles and other ingredients should be stirred together in a large bowl, refrigerated and stirred every few hours for about a day and then added to the jar after the sugar has dissolved. I know it seems like a large amount of sugar, I thought the same when I was first given the recipe but all the sugar should dissolve if you stir every few hours. I see some posting that they changed the recipe and give a lower start rating, maybe don't rate the recipe unless you try it as it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Yum with a kick! I made this as directed but chopped the pickle spears into bite size pieces and served with a straining spoon and toothpicks. I was surprised at how many got eaten at my party. It's one of those things you try and then have to go back and get another. The flavor was more sweet n sour with a little heat than garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Ridiculously easy to make and so delicious! These pickles are a great addition to tomato sandwiches. I used half the sugar just to save a few calories. The full amount would have been awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States