Great Grandpa's Garlic Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've had a jar of dills sitting around for a while and have wanted to try this recipe for a while, so last night I made these pickles. When I made lunch I remembered them in the fridge and ate some with my meal. At first they just seemed good, but then I couldn't stop eating them! They are delicious and I'm going to make some for gifts this Christmas. Thank you for this wonderful sweet and spicy pickle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Great pickles. Does anyone know if they can be waterbathed, and for how long. so you could keep them on the shelf?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Everybody loved these pickles! They were a hit! I did make a few changes for my taste. I used a 32 oz jar of whole pickles and cut them into 1" chunks and only used 2 cups of sugar. I also added 3/4 tsp of red pepper flakes because I didn't have any Tabasco. Plenty sweet for me and the spiciness was great. You have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great Grandpas pickles are fabulous! I did make a small change in that I threw in a few slices of pickled jalapenos and about 2 tablespoons of the pickling juice from the jalapenos. All of the adults in my house declared these the "best pickles" they ever had and they asked me to keep them on hand all the time. We eat them with dinner every night we eat at home.... With Mexican food, italian food, any kind as these pickles are good with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Elliott Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My boss made these and brought them to work and I could not stop eating them!! Best pickles ever!! Will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judesmama123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Ridiculously easy to make and so delicious! These pickles are a great addition to tomato sandwiches. I used half the sugar just to save a few calories. The full amount would have been awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were really good - I ended up using a 24 oz. jar of pickles because I couldn't find the 16 oz. size, but used the original ingredient amounts. They're delicious - and, I didn't have the pepper flakes on hand, but the tabasco added the perfect amount of zing. Lov 'em and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were very good! Nice blend of sweet and spicy! I had some sugar that did not disovle though on the bottom of the jar, next time I think I may cut the sugar a bit. My 17 year old daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Stech

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made a few changes to this to fit my taste and what I had on hand. I used a 32oz jar of generic brand whole dill pickles. I took them out and sliced them into half inch chunks. I put the chunks back and added 6 halved garlic cloves within the slices. I mixed the brine with 2 cups of sugar and maybe a teaspoon or two of hot sauce. They were a delicious sweet and spicy dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Yum with a kick! I made this as directed but chopped the pickle spears into bite size pieces and served with a straining spoon and toothpicks. I was surprised at how many got eaten at my party. It's one of those things you try and then have to go back and get another. The flavor was more sweet n sour with a little heat than garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States