Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you're looking for a light textured, slightly sweet cornbread......This is for you. My husband doesn't even like sugar in his cornbread and we finished off the whole batch of them last night with our Gumbo!! As he is stuffing his face he's reminding me "I don't like sugar in my cornbread!" Guess that isn't true anymore. It only took 20 minutes to bake. 30 would have been too long. Also, didn't have buttermilk---substituted 1 TBsp. vinegar in 1 c. milk (let it sit for 5 minutes first). I'll be making this again for sure!! EDIT: Just made this again so I could submit a photo of it.I used yellow cornmeal. I had maybe 2 tsp. of baking powder left (much less than called for) and my cornbread came out great again! Second EDIT: I realized that I left out the fact that when making cornbread I always place my greased pan IN the preheated oven til it gets hot...that way, when you pour your cornbread batter in, it forms a really nice 'crust' on the bottom of the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this to go with dinner at bible study and it was a hit! Will certainly be making this again! The only change I made was to use yellow corn meal, as that was what I had on hand, and to use soured milk (1c. milk with 1-2Tbsp. vinegar)and veggie oil, not corn. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT...I USED IT IN MY THANKSGIVING STUFFING AND MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT...WATCH THE COOKING TIME BECAUSE MINE ONLY TOOK 25 MINUTES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Simply wonderful, no changes need. (Well I did sub yellow cornmeal since I don't have white, but I'm sure white would have been just as fabulous!) Serve warm with a drizzle of honey for the best dadgummed cornbread you've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a great cornbread recipe. It came out fluffy and it was not sweet. I love it. I did not have buttermilk so I just used the milk I had on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I only made one change and that was using melted butter instead of corn oil. I baked this in my cast iron skillet--I just added a couple tablespoons of butter to my cast iron skillet and let it melt in the skillet while the oven preheated before I added the batter. 350* for just about 30 minutes. This reminds me of MY grandmother's johnnycake which is such a wonderful feeling as I miss her terribly. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Just what I was looking for. Changes made: whole wheat flour, yellow corn meal, and milk soured with lemon juice since I had no buttermilk, cooked in iron skillet. Great texture and good flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is a diabetic & with my diabetic friendly changes he said it's one of the best cornbreads I've made. I used skim milk/vinegar for the buttermilk. Less baking powder - about 3 t, whole wheat flour & splenda instead of sugar. Poured a bit of oil in my square pan & heated it up with the oven. 30 minutes would have been way too long. I took mine out at 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This cornbread is absolutely amazing! I used a larger rectangular pan so it was probably a little bit flatter than normal, but it only took 15 mins. in the oven and tastes great. It was eaten up in one night. I will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I was all excited to try this out and then at the last minute saw that my cornmeal was expired so i couldn't follow it exactly. Then i discovered i had a packet of Martha White Sweet Yellow Cornbread Mix (7 oz. size). To the mix i added 1 cup Buttermilk, 1 Egg, and 1/4 C. Veg Oil and mixed it together and spread it in an oiled loaf pan. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted came out clean. This was the BEST TASTING CORNBREAD i have ever eaten in my life. So, if you don't have plain cornmeal on hand, and you have a packet .. just make it the way i did. I can't wait to try this recipe again. Thanks!!!! Yummo!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States