Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT...I USED IT IN MY THANKSGIVING STUFFING AND MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT...WATCH THE COOKING TIME BECAUSE MINE ONLY TOOK 25 MINUTES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a great cornbread recipe. It came out fluffy and it was not sweet. I love it. I did not have buttermilk so I just used the milk I had on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
if i could rate this cornbread with 20 stars i would. after a long search for a really good cornbread recipe i found this one. this is the best cornbread i have ever eaten. i used bacon grease instead of the corn oil and greased my skillet with it also. i didnt realize i had used self rising cornmeal instead of regular i don't know if adding the extra baking powder and soda made it better or not. i had always used nora mill's recipe (a wonderful grainery in helen georgia) but this was even better. thanks granny steinbeck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This cornbread is absolutely amazing! I used a larger rectangular pan so it was probably a little bit flatter than normal, but it only took 15 mins. in the oven and tastes great. It was eaten up in one night. I will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I was all excited to try this out and then at the last minute saw that my cornmeal was expired so i couldn't follow it exactly. Then i discovered i had a packet of Martha White Sweet Yellow Cornbread Mix (7 oz. size). To the mix i added 1 cup Buttermilk, 1 Egg, and 1/4 C. Veg Oil and mixed it together and spread it in an oiled loaf pan. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted came out clean. This was the BEST TASTING CORNBREAD i have ever eaten in my life. So, if you don't have plain cornmeal on hand, and you have a packet .. just make it the way i did. I can't wait to try this recipe again. Thanks!!!! Yummo!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
YUM! I decreased the sugar to 3 T because I don't like my cornbread really sweet. This was so fluffy and moist; we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this to go with dinner at bible study and it was a hit! Will certainly be making this again! The only change I made was to use yellow corn meal, as that was what I had on hand, and to use soured milk (1c. milk with 1-2Tbsp. vinegar)and veggie oil, not corn. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I substituted brown rice flour for the regular flour to make this recipe gluten free! It took about 25 minutes to cook. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is an easy recipe that results in really great cornbread. Like others, I used yellow cornmeal, vegetable oil, and regular milk mixed with 1 T of lemon juice. I also had to use a metal pan, and found it was done in about 20 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
absolutely the best cornbread i've ever had. iused self-rising corn meal so i added only about 3 tsp of baking powder. i also used wheat flour in place of white, olive oil instead of corn oil, and milk with 1 Tbsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States