Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you're looking for a light textured, slightly sweet cornbread......This is for you. My husband doesn't even like sugar in his cornbread and we finished off the whole batch of them last night with our Gumbo!! As he is stuffing his face he's reminding me "I don't like sugar in my cornbread!" Guess that isn't true anymore. It only took 20 minutes to bake. 30 would have been too long. Also, didn't have buttermilk---substituted 1 TBsp. vinegar in 1 c. milk (let it sit for 5 minutes first). I'll be making this again for sure!! EDIT: Just made this again so I could submit a photo of it.I used yellow cornmeal. I had maybe 2 tsp. of baking powder left (much less than called for) and my cornbread came out great again! Second EDIT: I realized that I left out the fact that when making cornbread I always place my greased pan IN the preheated oven til it gets hot...that way, when you pour your cornbread batter in, it forms a really nice 'crust' on the bottom of the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Delicious and pretty easy to make. My first time making cornbread from scratch! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and I wasn't impressed with the results. It was fine, just not really good. I will look for a new recipe next time I make cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
delicious! i didnt have oil so i substituted melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I thought the recipe was very easy but it seemed a little bland. Everyones tastebuds are different and sometimes you just have to adjust things to what you like. I will try it again though maybe I missed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This turned out soft and crumbly, with a great cornmeal crunch. We do drizzle the bread with honey for a treat. There's nothing like warm cornbread and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I've been trying to make my cornbread taste like my grandmothers for years and this is the recipe! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Yellow Cornmeal vs white 19 minutes in a 10" Cast Iron Yummy drizzled with Honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmikmik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This cornbread was about as good as any other cornbread. We thought it was a bit crumbly but overall what you would expect from cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Simply wonderful, no changes need. (Well I did sub yellow cornmeal since I don't have white, but I'm sure white would have been just as fabulous!) Serve warm with a drizzle of honey for the best dadgummed cornbread you've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States