Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I have been looking for a good cornbread recipe for a while and I found it today. I did add about a half cup of brown sugar, I like sweet cornbread. I preheated my cast iron skillett in the oven, and then added 1 tablespoon of butter before I added the mixture, the result a moist, sweet and perfect cornbread. Thank so much to you and your great grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Outstanding! This is the recipe I've been searching for...the perfect corn bread. I did use 1/2 whole wheat flour and the texture was still perfect. Thanks to other reviewers for the tip on heating the pan first for a crispy crust. Super delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I used yellow corn meal as that's what I had and this still turned out GREAT! Very easy. Delicious. Check it around 20 min as mine didn't need a full 30. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
FIrst of all, I love a great story with a recipe. That is what first captured my attention. Secondly, this is the best cornbread recipe ever. My husband told me absolutely not to lose this recipe. I did not change a thing. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
When making true southern cornbread, using a pre-heated, oiled (two tbs.) cast iron skillet makes a big difference. When you pour the batter in, it sizzles and forms a nice crust as it bakes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I was looking for a recipe that isn't too sweet since i had a pot of chili on the stove cooking and my favorite cornbread recipe was missing (we just moved). This looked fairly similar and the recipe was followed to the letter but it was awful. Perhaps the 4 tsp of baking powder? It was slightly bitter and salty to me and I'm a salt lover! I would not recomend. We threw most of it away. Disapointing since it had recieved good reviews. LT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was good. I made it as directed except used yellow corn meal and vegetable oil. It was superb. I preheated my glass baking dish while the oven was warming up and this made a nice crust as others suggested. This was not too sweet (I don't like cake-like cornbread). Perfect, I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is an exceptional recipe. I only use yellow cornmeal but the rest of the recipe I followed. Cooked in a preheated cast iron skillet. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
tasted too much like bkg soda, I'll stick with the recipe on the corn bread container
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m&m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great cornbread for adding to soup or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States