Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I used yellow corn meal as that's what I had and this still turned out GREAT! Very easy. Delicious. Check it around 20 min as mine didn't need a full 30. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
FIrst of all, I love a great story with a recipe. That is what first captured my attention. Secondly, this is the best cornbread recipe ever. My husband told me absolutely not to lose this recipe. I did not change a thing. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
When making true southern cornbread, using a pre-heated, oiled (two tbs.) cast iron skillet makes a big difference. When you pour the batter in, it sizzles and forms a nice crust as it bakes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I was looking for a recipe that isn't too sweet since i had a pot of chili on the stove cooking and my favorite cornbread recipe was missing (we just moved). This looked fairly similar and the recipe was followed to the letter but it was awful. Perhaps the 4 tsp of baking powder? It was slightly bitter and salty to me and I'm a salt lover! I would not recomend. We threw most of it away. Disapointing since it had recieved good reviews. LT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was good. I made it as directed except used yellow corn meal and vegetable oil. It was superb. I preheated my glass baking dish while the oven was warming up and this made a nice crust as others suggested. This was not too sweet (I don't like cake-like cornbread). Perfect, I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is an exceptional recipe. I only use yellow cornmeal but the rest of the recipe I followed. Cooked in a preheated cast iron skillet. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
tasted too much like bkg soda, I'll stick with the recipe on the corn bread container
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m&m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great cornbread for adding to soup or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you're looking for a light textured, slightly sweet cornbread......This is for you. My husband doesn't even like sugar in his cornbread and we finished off the whole batch of them last night with our Gumbo!! As he is stuffing his face he's reminding me "I don't like sugar in my cornbread!" Guess that isn't true anymore. It only took 20 minutes to bake. 30 would have been too long. Also, didn't have buttermilk---substituted 1 TBsp. vinegar in 1 c. milk (let it sit for 5 minutes first). I'll be making this again for sure!! EDIT: Just made this again so I could submit a photo of it.I used yellow cornmeal. I had maybe 2 tsp. of baking powder left (much less than called for) and my cornbread came out great again! Second EDIT: I realized that I left out the fact that when making cornbread I always place my greased pan IN the preheated oven til it gets hot...that way, when you pour your cornbread batter in, it forms a really nice 'crust' on the bottom of the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Delicious and pretty easy to make. My first time making cornbread from scratch! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States