Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Used Splenda rather than sugar -- otherwise followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is excellent. My only concern is that 4 teaspoons of baking powder is a lot of sodium in addition to the baking soda and salt. I used 3 teaspoons and it cam out perfect. Next time I will try 2 and 1/2. I also used yellow cornmeal because I like the color. I like my cornbread with a rich corn flavor so I might play around with adding some pureed corn next time. As written, this recipe only took about 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is exactly the type of cornbread I want to have when sitting in front of a large bowl of beans & ham. Wonderful! I too made in preheated cast iron skillet - had 2T of butter melted in same and then used 1/8 cup corn oil in mix. I only use freshly milled coarse cornmeal and it gave a wonderfully rustic texture to bread. Just a hint of sweetness, so if you're in the mood for an ooegy-goooey sweet cornbread, this isn't the one - this is the lovely crumbly perch on the side of my bowl of soup, stew, or beans and enjoy type bread. Mine was perfectly cooked in 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I only made one change and that was using melted butter instead of corn oil. I baked this in my cast iron skillet--I just added a couple tablespoons of butter to my cast iron skillet and let it melt in the skillet while the oven preheated before I added the batter. 350* for just about 30 minutes. This reminds me of MY grandmother's johnnycake which is such a wonderful feeling as I miss her terribly. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I used half c milk and 1/2 c Greek yougurt instead of buttermilk, and yellow cornmeal. This will be my go-to cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinginprescott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
made this with yellow cornmeal and served it with a meatloaf dinner. Very good recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is a diabetic & with my diabetic friendly changes he said it's one of the best cornbreads I've made. I used skim milk/vinegar for the buttermilk. Less baking powder - about 3 t, whole wheat flour & splenda instead of sugar. Poured a bit of oil in my square pan & heated it up with the oven. 30 minutes would have been way too long. I took mine out at 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is the best cornbread recipe I've ever had, I have been searching for a while I will use this for my dressing on thanksgiving. Thank you so much we will make this our family tradition...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Montes Ruiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Really nice and light. Used 3/4 cup yellow cornmeal and baked them in muffin tin. Will use this recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This cornbread is delicious. Easy and quick to make. The only thing I altered was the amount of baking powder simply because I didn't quite have enough. It still came out great. I will also use this recipe for my cornbread dressing. I LOOOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States