Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is exactly the type of cornbread I want to have when sitting in front of a large bowl of beans & ham. Wonderful! I too made in preheated cast iron skillet - had 2T of butter melted in same and then used 1/8 cup corn oil in mix. I only use freshly milled coarse cornmeal and it gave a wonderfully rustic texture to bread. Just a hint of sweetness, so if you're in the mood for an ooegy-goooey sweet cornbread, this isn't the one - this is the lovely crumbly perch on the side of my bowl of soup, stew, or beans and enjoy type bread. Mine was perfectly cooked in 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I only made one change and that was using melted butter instead of corn oil. I baked this in my cast iron skillet--I just added a couple tablespoons of butter to my cast iron skillet and let it melt in the skillet while the oven preheated before I added the batter. 350* for just about 30 minutes. This reminds me of MY grandmother's johnnycake which is such a wonderful feeling as I miss her terribly. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I used half c milk and 1/2 c Greek yougurt instead of buttermilk, and yellow cornmeal. This will be my go-to cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinginprescott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
made this with yellow cornmeal and served it with a meatloaf dinner. Very good recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is a diabetic & with my diabetic friendly changes he said it's one of the best cornbreads I've made. I used skim milk/vinegar for the buttermilk. Less baking powder - about 3 t, whole wheat flour & splenda instead of sugar. Poured a bit of oil in my square pan & heated it up with the oven. 30 minutes would have been way too long. I took mine out at 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is the best cornbread recipe I've ever had, I have been searching for a while I will use this for my dressing on thanksgiving. Thank you so much we will make this our family tradition...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Really nice and light. Used 3/4 cup yellow cornmeal and baked them in muffin tin. Will use this recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This cornbread is delicious. Easy and quick to make. The only thing I altered was the amount of baking powder simply because I didn't quite have enough. It still came out great. I will also use this recipe for my cornbread dressing. I LOOOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I have been looking for a good cornbread recipe for a while and I found it today. I did add about a half cup of brown sugar, I like sweet cornbread. I preheated my cast iron skillett in the oven, and then added 1 tablespoon of butter before I added the mixture, the result a moist, sweet and perfect cornbread. Thank so much to you and your great grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Outstanding! This is the recipe I've been searching for...the perfect corn bread. I did use 1/2 whole wheat flour and the texture was still perfect. Thanks to other reviewers for the tip on heating the pan first for a crispy crust. Super delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States