Great-Grandmother Bubbie's Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aliza Finley
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I'd like to add: We make extra filling and eat it on yogurt or cereal or plain. Besides being tasty, it really helps... hem... move things along :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza Finley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These cookies turned out great!!! What is even better is that they were successfully made gluten free-not easy with most treats. I added one egg, decreased the flour by 2/3 to 3/4 cup (depending) and added 1 tsp. of xanthum gum to the dough. I kneaded thoroughly and chilled the dough overnight. Rolled the circles between two sheet or wax paper and used GF preserves as the filling. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREENAPRIL

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
fabulous recipe! I didn't have any lemons, so I just doubled the orange zest and it was perfect. Also, I used the bread hook on my Kitchenaid to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Frederick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Really good recipe. I used canola oil and white whole wheat flour--the dough was great. For the filling I made separate batches of apricot and prune, then put them in the blender with lemon juice and sugar, (no walnuts) so I had 2 different fillings, both good. I ended up with more than twice as much filling as I needed, so I guess I'll have to make more dough and eat more hamantaschen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
SO good! For some reason, the dough was too soft to roll out right after mixing it all together, so I refrigerated it for a couple of hours. I had no problem at all rolling them out after that. The cookies are so delicious! They are so much more flavorful than other recipes that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillmichelle
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Fantastic, tasty dough! I mixed it w the dough hook attachment in my KitchenAid mixer. So easy! Scraped it from bowl onto Roul Pat mat & needed to sprinkle w some flour (used Organic pastry flour & raw sugar). I also added a drop of Young Living 'Citrus Fresh' essential oil to the egg mixture. Amazing flavor & I love cooking w my oils (I sell them as well). The dough rolled out so nicely. Didn't have time to make the filling so I used a combo of cherry & apricot Bon Maman preserves. I made the cookies thin so I baked them only 14-16 min per batch. Crunchy edges & soft inside. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillmichelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Amazing recipe. Dough stays cookie-crispy after baking and storing in cookie jar. I added vanilla and a little orange juice to the dough. I also put mine in the fridge before rolling out. I used chocolate chips, Nutella and a concoction of raisins, dried cranberries and dried apricots simmered in orange juice with cinnamon and sugar and then mashed with my immersion blender for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grayce Bee
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
If you have trouble getting them off the counter, a metal spatula works great. The zests give this sooo much flavor! I used apricot preserves for the filling. My oven runs very hot; only took 11 minutes at 350. They brown quickly, so just remember that every oven is different! Overall, delicious and so much fun to gift and enjoy on Purim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grayce Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
These were fabulous. Used a little less sugar in the filling and used walnut oil in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Limprecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Good recipe! What a great filling! The one thing I would say is refrigerating the dough is super helpful! The dough was too soft but I refrigerated the dough for 2 hours, like this recipe says to do http://washu.spoonuniversity.com/2015/03/04/make-4-different-hamantashen-recipe/ , and the dough was much easier to use and shape after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States