Great Grandma's Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Wonderful! I will make again. The pork turned out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This is an easy to fix and delicious recipe for any person who lives with a small kitchen. I didn't have a frying pan with a lid, so I used a large pot with a lid. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
i thought i was back in Allentown with the first bite. great! Even the grand kids like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
great!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
MMMMM, reminds me of grandmas spareribs and sauerkraut without all the work and so much quicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
The family loved this. The pork was very tender and the apple gave it a bit of sweetness. Good with a dollop of sour cream too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent recipe. Quick and easy. I used 3/4c apple juice instead of an apple, added 1/2 sliced onion, cubed the pork in at least inch cubes & browned very dark (maybe the people who said it was dry made the meat cubes too small?) and after an hour it came out wonderful with tender pork. I'll double the recipe next time to be sure there's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very good. I also added half an onion and a couple garlic cloves chopped. Served with mashed taters. Oh My!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a great basic recipe. I used pork chops rather than a loin and I added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and half a chopped oninon. I sauted the onion with a little olive oil to soften them up before mixing all the ingredients together. Then,I seared both sides of the chops, deglazed the pan with some white wine (and also added 1/4 c. of water) and then put the rest of the ingredients on top of the chops in a covered pan and let simmer until cooked through which which was only 15-20 minutes. This was a very yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I'd forgotten how good this dish is! To make it a 'one pan clean-up with a twist', I’d browned boneless pork chops (4) in an electric skillet; add sauerkraut & 3 peeled, quartered potatoes and a pinch of caraway seeds. No apple. But what brings it all together...Add a can of BEER. Cover and set dial at 350, simmer for 40 minutes or until pork is thoroughly cooked. One pan cleanup and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States