Great Grandma's Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a great basic recipe. I used pork chops rather than a loin and I added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and half a chopped oninon. I sauted the onion with a little olive oil to soften them up before mixing all the ingredients together. Then,I seared both sides of the chops, deglazed the pan with some white wine (and also added 1/4 c. of water) and then put the rest of the ingredients on top of the chops in a covered pan and let simmer until cooked through which which was only 15-20 minutes. This was a very yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent recipe. Quick and easy. I used 3/4c apple juice instead of an apple, added 1/2 sliced onion, cubed the pork in at least inch cubes & browned very dark (maybe the people who said it was dry made the meat cubes too small?) and after an hour it came out wonderful with tender pork. I'll double the recipe next time to be sure there's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I didnt change anything. Sometimes simple is better. Try it the way it is written, then if you dont think its enough, change it. Great Grandma knew how to make it simple and delicious and thats good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
The family loved this. The pork was very tender and the apple gave it a bit of sweetness. Good with a dollop of sour cream too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
MMMMM, reminds me of grandmas spareribs and sauerkraut without all the work and so much quicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is a keeper...made mock mashed potatoes (cauliflower) and mixed it all together on the dinner plate. Great for low carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
i thought i was back in Allentown with the first bite. great! Even the grand kids like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
My brother wasn't too impressed. I myself liked the flavor the apples gave to the pork. The pork was a little dry other than that, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Good recipe. I put white pepper on the chops before browning and omitted the oil. I also added a touch of brown sugar to cut down on the tartness of the sauerkraut. I've also made in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Fixed this for dinner tonight and it was very good. It is something I would fix again. I have made something siniliaronly used boneless pork country style ribs and sauerkraut and baked them. But I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States