Great Grandma's Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is really an excellent basic recipe! I used 1.5 pounds of pork tenderloin slices (about 3/4 inch thick) and sauted them on both sides to brown first (did not use oil at all, just non-stick spray). Then I added a 32 oz jar of sauerkraut (drained) over the top and added the peeled, chopped apple and about 1/2 cup of natural, unsweetened applesauce. I also added 2 Tbsp of brown sugar then put the lid on a cooked on low for about 35 min and took the lid off and cooked it for 5 minutes more. Delicious - the pork was so flavorful and tender, not at all rubbery!!! I definitely recommend draining the liquid from the sauerkraut before adding, otherwise there will be way too much liquid leftover in the pan (like there was the first time I made it :) Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I make this pretty often, but here are the changes I make. I use 2 lbs of country ribs salt and pepper well then sear. I use 1 onion and 2 apples diced and saute in a bit of olive oil then use 1tsp of brown sugar to mellow the acidity. I return the ribs to the pot and cover with sauerkraut. Simmer for 4-6 hours and serve with mashed potatoes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmama307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I have been looking for a great use for the frequently on-sale diced pork I find at my local market, and this is definitely one! I have often used diced pork to make a too-tough Mexican stew, but this recipe yielded a deliciously tender German pork, apple and sauerkraut supper! I first sauteed some onions in olive oil, and then added pork that I'd tossed with some flour and white pepper. Browned the meat, then took it out to deglaze with some water and white wine, as another reviewer suggested. Then, I threw everything back in, along with the can of sauerkraut, two diced apples, ~6 small diced Yukon gold potatoes, ~Tbsp. brown sugar, a few splashes of white wine and some water and apple juice. It all cooked together, tender and wonderful, in less than an hour, and every bit as fabulous as (if not more so, and a whole lot quicker than) many other German pork/apple/onion/kraut things I've tried in my slow cooker or Dutch oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Eatable, fullfilled a need and satisfied the taste buds. A possible repeat. Kids did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I'd forgotten how good this dish is! To make it a 'one pan clean-up with a twist', I’d browned boneless pork chops (4) in an electric skillet; add sauerkraut & 3 peeled, quartered potatoes and a pinch of caraway seeds. No apple. But what brings it all together...Add a can of BEER. Cover and set dial at 350, simmer for 40 minutes or until pork is thoroughly cooked. One pan cleanup and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very good and so easy. Didn't have as much flavor as my mother's but it was close enough will make again and again due to its ease. Added some apple sausage and bratwurst to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a wonderful, easy chilly Monday night supper. I made it just as it was, used a local saurkraut from our farmers market- (that may have improve it a little) It was a hit for our whole family including the youngest (7 yr. old) boy. It's a keeper- as my husband declared add it to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I used tofu instead of pork, and I thought it tasted great. Hubby was a little put off by soft applesauce like apples chunks with peel in his sauerkraut dish. I like the idea of adding in some sweet to counter the sauerkraut, so maybe I'll do applesauce instead of apple chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a great basic recipe. I used pork chops rather than a loin and I added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and half a chopped oninon. I sauted the onion with a little olive oil to soften them up before mixing all the ingredients together. Then,I seared both sides of the chops, deglazed the pan with some white wine (and also added 1/4 c. of water) and then put the rest of the ingredients on top of the chops in a covered pan and let simmer until cooked through which which was only 15-20 minutes. This was a very yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Good recipe. I put white pepper on the chops before browning and omitted the oil. I also added a touch of brown sugar to cut down on the tartness of the sauerkraut. I've also made in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States