Great Grandma's Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was so easy and good. Everyone in my family loved it. I doubled the recipe and served it with boiled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Classic. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made this tonight and loved it! I did not use an apple, but instead I put in a decent amount of brown sugar to sweeten up the sauerkraut. My husband is not a fan of sauerkraut, but he sure did gobble this up. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erik
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I started eating the sauerkraut right out of the jar! I followed the recipe (with the remaining sauerkraut) with a few revisions. Two apples instead of one was more to my taste plus a heap of fresh ground black pepper. The meat was so tender. This is a great recipe for someone ike me who lives alone and prefers less ingredients so cut costs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My family loved it. It tasted just like my moms when I was growing up. I prefer using ribs instead of a loin but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Super-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
OMG SOOOO GOOOOOD!!!!! I had some left over sauerkraut and had no idea what to do with it I thinksauerkraut is going to become a staple in our pantry from now on. Only changes I made I added chopped onion and garlic a I marinated the pork chunks in brown sugar and pulaski mustard mmmmmm sooo incredibely good. Will defintely make this again. I served it with a side of green onions and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is quite tasty... the apples take the "sting" out of the kraut, and the overall flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe is incredible, my gram, who is now 89 couldn't remember how to make this, she did so for my whole life! So I needed to know how to make this, and I couldn't have asked for a better Pennsylvania dutch recipe, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I didnt change anything. Sometimes simple is better. Try it the way it is written, then if you dont think its enough, change it. Great Grandma knew how to make it simple and delicious and thats good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States