Great Grandma's Nut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
fabulous! they really do melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I had a handwritten recipe from my husbands mother for these using finely chopped walnuts. They are his favorite cookie. The first time I went by her directions and wound up with the "nut butter" the previous commenter got. Between reading this recipe and talking to a friend who bakes seriously, I got it right the second time. Two things I did wrong the first time were not combining the ingredients as indicated here (mom's handwritten recipe said "mix all ingredients...big mistake!), I overmixed it to a batter consistency instead of more of a dough, and didn't add flour when it was too loose. They are well worth the effort! My husband almost cried because he said this were "Christmas at home" for him. Thank you Kit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
The batter is too loose and my cookies spread too much and came out more like nut butter mounds instead of balls. If I make these again, I will add more flour, at least 1/2 cup more and chill the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Really good cookie! Followed the recipe exactly and was pleasantly surprised with how good they turned out. After creaming the butter and sugar I stirred about a cup of flour in the bowl. Then I added the rest of the flour by hand. The consistency of the batter was perfect. I baked them for 15 minutes only, any more time and they would have burned. I would have given this recipe 4 stars had I used confectioner's sugar to roll them after baking. But since I dipped them in chocolate, 5 stars are DEFINITELY in order. I melted 1 cup of bittersweet chocolate and 2 teaspoons of shortening for the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Of all the recipes I've tried, this one is the best! Everyone loves them, they don't last on the plate very long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a good recipe as it is but if you want the cookie to keep its shape i would add 1/2 tsp. Cream of tartar to the batter due to the high fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
K. I made these today and the proportions are wrong. They are too sweet. They spread into flat cookies instead of staying balls! I found another recipe that used 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 2 1/4 cups of flour.These came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smooshiemonster
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Made this recipe, the only things I did differently were that I added 1 tsp of salt and used cashews instead of pecans (just personal taste preference). Recipe was easy and I did NOT chill my dough and they remained spherical. The only problem I ran into was that the dough was a little too dry so I added 1/4 cup milk to moisten it. Really happy with the results and my taste testers (hubby and son) both agree that they are delicious! Thank you for sharing Kit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States