Great Grandma's Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very good. I actually stuffed a pair of chickens with this recipe. It was very good. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
WOW great and simple !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love the recipe, I also cooked the celery with the onions and substituted light cream for the broth, this balances out the salt came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANNICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I "tested" this recipe prior to Thanksgiving and invited my in-laws over for dinner. They loved it and so did my husband! Guess this is my new Thanksgiving stuffing! I didn't put it in the turkey, just added chicken broth and baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McFee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This stuffing came out great! I used cubed homemade wheat bread, butter in place of the shortening, and chicken broth in place of the eggs. I stuffed an 8lb. chicken and had an 8x8 pan full of moist, flavorful stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Perfect, just the way I wanted it. Tasted just like mom's, only she never salted it quiet so much. Didn't use the paprika like many others. But the one thing I insist upon is cooking the celery with the onion. Trust me, its perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I'm only giving 2 stars cause it didn't have a good presentation. I almost didn't serve it but after tasting it...had to put it out. I took one reviewers suggestion and added chicken broth (I didn't stuff in a turkey) and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. It was so flavorful. I think I will not chop the celery and onion so small next time. That may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Stedler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. However I found the taste of the celery too dominant in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe with one exception, I thought that 3tsp. of salt was way too much and made it too salty. Next time I make it I will only use half that amount. Otherwise, the flavor was wonderful and the stuffing moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is a GREAT basic stuffing. you can use this also a a springboard to other stuffing by adding raisins, chestnuts etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States