Great Grandma's Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very good. I actually stuffed a pair of chickens with this recipe. It was very good. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
WOW great and simple !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love the recipe, I also cooked the celery with the onions and substituted light cream for the broth, this balances out the salt came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANNICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I "tested" this recipe prior to Thanksgiving and invited my in-laws over for dinner. They loved it and so did my husband! Guess this is my new Thanksgiving stuffing! I didn't put it in the turkey, just added chicken broth and baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McFee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This stuffing came out great! I used cubed homemade wheat bread, butter in place of the shortening, and chicken broth in place of the eggs. I stuffed an 8lb. chicken and had an 8x8 pan full of moist, flavorful stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Perfect, just the way I wanted it. Tasted just like mom's, only she never salted it quiet so much. Didn't use the paprika like many others. But the one thing I insist upon is cooking the celery with the onion. Trust me, its perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I'm only giving 2 stars cause it didn't have a good presentation. I almost didn't serve it but after tasting it...had to put it out. I took one reviewers suggestion and added chicken broth (I didn't stuff in a turkey) and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. It was so flavorful. I think I will not chop the celery and onion so small next time. That may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Stedler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. However I found the taste of the celery too dominant in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe with one exception, I thought that 3tsp. of salt was way too much and made it too salty. Next time I make it I will only use half that amount. Otherwise, the flavor was wonderful and the stuffing moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is a GREAT basic stuffing. you can use this also a a springboard to other stuffing by adding raisins, chestnuts etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States