Great Grandma's Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I make similiar dressing but Iadd sliced apples and crumbled sausage to mine. I also moisten mine with broth. I bake mine in a pan and it has always been good. Dressing is something I always look forward to in the Fall, and we also bake it with cut up turkey for a casserole type dish after Thanksgiving. I hope everyone enjoys this as much as my family does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Was quite impressed with this recipe...so simple and yet so good. Substituted chopped apple for the celery and used fresh sage instead of poultry seasoning. I baked it in a greased dish for about 30 minutes at 350 - no need to add any additional liquids. The second time I made this I baked individual servings of the dressing in a well-greased muffin tin. A fun garnish for a platter of sliced turkey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Thank you for your recipe. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Really good and easy. I did not stuff as I just cooked a turkey breast so I moistened with chicken broth and baked in a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
ok so this is the stuffing i decided to go for for thanks giving dinner. it was my first time making stuffing and of course stuffing the bird. before i even got to stuff the bird i knew that this was gonna be good. it smelted just the way i remembered it. i've been feeding my family stuffing that comes in a box previously and my husband hated stuffing lol but now he is very pleased and happy with this, thankjs for the simple but delicious recipe. u made me look good :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is how I make my stuffing except I saute celery with onions in butter and poultry seasoning. Then add it to bread and mix. Add turkey or chicken broth for extra flavor. It is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is a GREAT basic stuffing. you can use this also a a springboard to other stuffing by adding raisins, chestnuts etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Perfect, just the way I wanted it. Tasted just like mom's, only she never salted it quiet so much. Didn't use the paprika like many others. But the one thing I insist upon is cooking the celery with the onion. Trust me, its perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This stuffing came out great! I used cubed homemade wheat bread, butter in place of the shortening, and chicken broth in place of the eggs. I stuffed an 8lb. chicken and had an 8x8 pan full of moist, flavorful stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I "tested" this recipe prior to Thanksgiving and invited my in-laws over for dinner. They loved it and so did my husband! Guess this is my new Thanksgiving stuffing! I didn't put it in the turkey, just added chicken broth and baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States