Great Grandma's Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
WOW great and simple !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love the recipe, I also cooked the celery with the onions and substituted light cream for the broth, this balances out the salt came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANNICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I "tested" this recipe prior to Thanksgiving and invited my in-laws over for dinner. They loved it and so did my husband! Guess this is my new Thanksgiving stuffing! I didn't put it in the turkey, just added chicken broth and baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This stuffing came out great! I used cubed homemade wheat bread, butter in place of the shortening, and chicken broth in place of the eggs. I stuffed an 8lb. chicken and had an 8x8 pan full of moist, flavorful stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Perfect, just the way I wanted it. Tasted just like mom's, only she never salted it quiet so much. Didn't use the paprika like many others. But the one thing I insist upon is cooking the celery with the onion. Trust me, its perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I'm only giving 2 stars cause it didn't have a good presentation. I almost didn't serve it but after tasting it...had to put it out. I took one reviewers suggestion and added chicken broth (I didn't stuff in a turkey) and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. It was so flavorful. I think I will not chop the celery and onion so small next time. That may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. However I found the taste of the celery too dominant in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe with one exception, I thought that 3tsp. of salt was way too much and made it too salty. Next time I make it I will only use half that amount. Otherwise, the flavor was wonderful and the stuffing moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is a GREAT basic stuffing. you can use this also a a springboard to other stuffing by adding raisins, chestnuts etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I'm giving this a three although my natural inclination is to give it a zero or 1 star because of the shortening. Use olive oil in this and it's four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States