Great Grandma's Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I did make this as written, and the results were as I predicted. I did not like that the celery isn't sauteed with the onion. The second time I made it, I sauteed the celery with the onions (in butter, not shortening), left out the baking powder, reduced the salt to about 1/2 teaspoon, omitted the paprika and subbed poultry seasoning and added 3/4 cup of chicken broth. NOW it was a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
great basis stuffing recipe. I used sage as well as poultry seasoning but that is catering to my family's tastes and I also added some onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too much paprika, and probably the wrong poultry seasoning mix. I tried reducing both, but that didn't work either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I make similiar dressing but Iadd sliced apples and crumbled sausage to mine. I also moisten mine with broth. I bake mine in a pan and it has always been good. Dressing is something I always look forward to in the Fall, and we also bake it with cut up turkey for a casserole type dish after Thanksgiving. I hope everyone enjoys this as much as my family does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is the recipe that I grew up with except, you forgot the large handful of fresh SAGE leaves, coarsely chopped. There really is NO SUBSTITUTE, there is no such thing as too much FRESH sage. Also, we don't use the eggs; there is usually enough moisture from the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriePat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is very similar to my grandmother's recipe. Except I saute the celery and onion in the butter (shortening) along with some chopped fresh parsley. I season the dry bread cubes with salt, pepper and the poultry seasoning. Then I mix it all together with the beaten eggs and a cup or so of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I make stuffing similar to this, but use butter, chicken broth, no baking powder, paprika or eggs. And I cook it in the crock pot instead of the bird. Much easier to cook and serve. It tastes like it was cooked inside the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is just like what my mother use to make. The only difference is we use butter to saute the onions and celery, never shortening. And we stuff the bird, we just like it that way. This is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I'm curious, what's the baking powder for? I've been making stuffing for 40+ years and never heard that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very good. I actually stuffed a pair of chickens with this recipe. It was very good. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States