Great Grandma Johns' Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is very good, and similar to my husband's grandmother's recipie. As my family got larger, i had to find shortcuts because time would not allow. If i am short on time, i use the refrigerator pie crusts and frozen hash browns and i always add a little chopped up carrots. My kids devour them w/ground beef so if using that, brown and drain first. Thanks for the tip w/the water at the end, i never used that and it certainly makes them moist and w/gravy inside! Serve w/gravy or (for the younger ones) catsup on the side! Yum! If you make them smaller, bite or two size, they make a great appetizer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Looks like a great recipe! I use my great-grandma's recipe who used to make pasties for the miner's in upper Michigan (da U.P., eh!) I am just writing to give a couple of suggestions. To keep the insides moist use lard or butter. Lard is what was traditionally used. You could also try using a 1/2 & 1/2 combination of pork and beef, that is what my recipe calls for. A modern twist to add some great flavor to the pasties (also a secret ingredient of a pasty shop in the U.P.) is onion soup mix. A whole package is a little bit too much unless you are making a huge batch, so go light until you have a feel for how much you like. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
The true Cornish pastie recipe! However, we do add rutabaga to this, and cut back the amount of shortening. This recipe reminds me of the Cornish pasties we had in Cornwall, wrapped in wax paper and required to be eaten with both hands. A little time consuming, otherwise good for people on a budget and who have the time on their hands to make something like this. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe reminded me of my grandma's recipe. For extra enhancement, I seared the sirloin pieces, added minced garlic, sliced carrots and frozen peas. Beef bouillon granules mixed in with the water at the last step adds more flavor. Thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories on a North Dakota farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Great!! I hadn't made pasties in over thirty years, and this recipe tastes just as I remember! I used one more potato than the two the recipe calls for, and I dotted the filling with margarine before placing the pie crust over the top. I also cooked them for 10 more minutes than the 1 hour in the recipe, and I laid a piece of foil loosely over the top once the crusts were brown. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYBABYSUE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Houlton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a nice simple recipe. For a busy night shortcut, I used the Pillsbury pie crusts, and serve with Heinz jar gravy. You can whip them up pretty quickly and pop them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlthompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I use ground beef in mine, and I tend to make a HUGE batch of these every fall because they freeze so well and are great throughout the colder months. Grew up eating these covered in ketchup and even now that is still my favorite way to eat 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I thought this was good and different. I added chicken bouillon to the water along with a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is what my husband grew up eating. I used what I had leftover roast. Next time, I'll season each layer with salt and pepper. I made it in a 10" pie plate since I didn't need to carry it anywhere. I figured coal miner's wives wouldn't have made extra work for themselves if it wasn't required. Adding the water in the end seemed to steam the pasty. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
My husband asked for this for his birthday dinner, and I had never even had these before, much less made them. To be honest I was very scared about this whole recipe, because I didn't cook the meat or potatoes before hand and I thought for sure that they weren't going to be cooked all the way through. I was also very unsure about how it was going to taste, (with only salt, pepper and I used fresh parsley). Not only was this dish surprisingly tasty, but you can bet that I will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States