Great Grandma Johns' Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
What a wonderful recipe! We loved they way that the thin slices of potato melted into the pie crust and the kids didn't even notice they were in there! I sliced the the top sirloin really thin, Philly style. Next time I'll make the crust instead of using a store made one;it ripped a little and spilled out the juices. I think adding peppers and mushrooms might be nice too next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Just made this recipe yesterday and did the pastry from scratch as per the recipe. I also added carrots. I would have given this 5 stars if the recipe included gravy. For those of us not eating this dish in a coal mine, I think gravy would have really helped enhance the recipe as the inside was really moist, but the outer crust could use something to dip in. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Too Dry . . . crust was sticky and didn't cover the dish well. Won't be serving again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Love this. Being South African I had these growing up made by my Nana then my mother and I now make it for my family. The only thing I add is a huge teaspoon of butter before I fold the pastry over the meat, onion and potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a great recipe. I have looked for this for years. My grandparents use to make this for me as a child and i loved them. They also came to Canada for Cornwall. For a special treat they would put my initial on the top with the extra pastry. Thanks you brought back many great memories. I will be making this for my children and grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
very easy to make, and quick, I added leftover fried rice to mine and it came out delish!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Simple to make, and very satisfying. I made this as is to see what it tasted like, but I think I may jazz it up in the future with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephiehawk
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really enjoy making these. Very filling and fun to make. Not everytime, but once in awhile 1 or 2 of them will be so moist that when they are done and I take them off the cooking sheet the filling comes out of the bottom. Still good eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiehawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I use ground beef in mine, and I tend to make a HUGE batch of these every fall because they freeze so well and are great throughout the colder months. Grew up eating these covered in ketchup and even now that is still my favorite way to eat 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States