Great Grandma Johns' Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I made this for my father (he's British) for his birthday-- he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephiehawk
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really enjoy making these. Very filling and fun to make. Not everytime, but once in awhile 1 or 2 of them will be so moist that when they are done and I take them off the cooking sheet the filling comes out of the bottom. Still good eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiehawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is very good, and similar to my husband's grandmother's recipie. As my family got larger, i had to find shortcuts because time would not allow. If i am short on time, i use the refrigerator pie crusts and frozen hash browns and i always add a little chopped up carrots. My kids devour them w/ground beef so if using that, brown and drain first. Thanks for the tip w/the water at the end, i never used that and it certainly makes them moist and w/gravy inside! Serve w/gravy or (for the younger ones) catsup on the side! Yum! If you make them smaller, bite or two size, they make a great appetizer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
They came out wonderful. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe reminded me of my grandma's recipe. For extra enhancement, I seared the sirloin pieces, added minced garlic, sliced carrots and frozen peas. Beef bouillon granules mixed in with the water at the last step adds more flavor. Thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories on a North Dakota farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Great!! I hadn't made pasties in over thirty years, and this recipe tastes just as I remember! I used one more potato than the two the recipe calls for, and I dotted the filling with margarine before placing the pie crust over the top. I also cooked them for 10 more minutes than the 1 hour in the recipe, and I laid a piece of foil loosely over the top once the crusts were brown. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYBABYSUE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Houlton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Looks like a great recipe! I use my great-grandma's recipe who used to make pasties for the miner's in upper Michigan (da U.P., eh!) I am just writing to give a couple of suggestions. To keep the insides moist use lard or butter. Lard is what was traditionally used. You could also try using a 1/2 & 1/2 combination of pork and beef, that is what my recipe calls for. A modern twist to add some great flavor to the pasties (also a secret ingredient of a pasty shop in the U.P.) is onion soup mix. A whole package is a little bit too much unless you are making a huge batch, so go light until you have a feel for how much you like. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
IM JUST RATING THE DOUGH. I FILLED THESE WITH LEFT OVER POT ROAST. AND HEATED THE VEGGIES AND GRAVY ON THE SIDE. IT WAS VERY GOOD, KINDA LIKE A 'POT PIE' IN POCKET FORM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Easy to make and very yummy comfort food! I followed other suggestions and added beef broth at the end - a definite plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I use ground beef in mine, and I tend to make a HUGE batch of these every fall because they freeze so well and are great throughout the colder months. Grew up eating these covered in ketchup and even now that is still my favorite way to eat 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States