Great Grandma Johns' Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I use ground beef in mine, and I tend to make a HUGE batch of these every fall because they freeze so well and are great throughout the colder months. Grew up eating these covered in ketchup and even now that is still my favorite way to eat 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Overall, very good. Not keen on the crust though. It's bland and somewhat dry. I read previous reviews and took many suggestions into consideration when putting the pastie together. I used beef tips which were incredibly tender. Made a cheese and onion for myself. Will look for another pastry crust recipe or like others...get the store bought one! I LOVE pasty's from the West Cornwall Pasty Company in the U.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is what my husband grew up eating. I used what I had leftover roast. Next time, I'll season each layer with salt and pepper. I made it in a 10" pie plate since I didn't need to carry it anywhere. I figured coal miner's wives wouldn't have made extra work for themselves if it wasn't required. Adding the water in the end seemed to steam the pasty. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were really tasty, and made plenty for dinner and lunch the next day. We will have these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a nice simple recipe. For a busy night shortcut, I used the Pillsbury pie crusts, and serve with Heinz jar gravy. You can whip them up pretty quickly and pop them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlthompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
My husband asked for this for his birthday dinner, and I had never even had these before, much less made them. To be honest I was very scared about this whole recipe, because I didn't cook the meat or potatoes before hand and I thought for sure that they weren't going to be cooked all the way through. I was also very unsure about how it was going to taste, (with only salt, pepper and I used fresh parsley). Not only was this dish surprisingly tasty, but you can bet that I will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Excellent! I used ham, potatoes and onion because thats all I had on hand. With the ham it needed something, so I added gravy. Going to make it tonight with ground beef and a side of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I love to make these. I learned from my own Grandma Johns in fact. My grandma's recipe always had rutabaga and carrots as well. I have tried a variation. I like to add thinly sliced sweet potatoes to this, either in place of the white potatoes (because they are more healthy for you) or in addition to the other ingredients. So I gave it try once and they add a really nice flavor to the pasty. Also if you have some Montreal Steak Seasoning, use it in place of plain black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Johns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Easy to make and very yummy comfort food! I followed other suggestions and added beef broth at the end - a definite plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
IM JUST RATING THE DOUGH. I FILLED THESE WITH LEFT OVER POT ROAST. AND HEATED THE VEGGIES AND GRAVY ON THE SIDE. IT WAS VERY GOOD, KINDA LIKE A 'POT PIE' IN POCKET FORM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Chef John’s Torta di Riso

See how to make a savory rice pie with leeks and spinach.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States