Great Grandma Johns' Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Looks great. I'm making them tonight. Years ago we started freezing gravy in an ice cube tray and added one cube to each large pasty before closing them up and baking them. Although this would not have been good for the original miners who kept them in their pockets until lunch and needed them "tough", they are so flavorful with the added gravy! There were stories on the Iron Range in Northern Minnesota of miners from the past who judged the best pasty as one that could withstand a drop from the walkway of the mine to the floor below!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Just used Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits and turned out great. For filling, I chopped all the veggies quite small, pre-boiled the potatoes and carrots, and added onions and ground beef (pre-cooked the meat as well). Used salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley. Was good but pretty mild. Maybe try more spices or a little gravy or something to make it more moist. Quite good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is almost exactly like my Scottish mother makes with one exception. On top of the meat layer she dots the pasties with little butter cubes. Love the look of the pasties made by caustic_soda. They look exactly like my Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
What a wonderful recipe! We loved they way that the thin slices of potato melted into the pie crust and the kids didn't even notice they were in there! I sliced the the top sirloin really thin, Philly style. Next time I'll make the crust instead of using a store made one;it ripped a little and spilled out the juices. I think adding peppers and mushrooms might be nice too next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Just made this recipe yesterday and did the pastry from scratch as per the recipe. I also added carrots. I would have given this 5 stars if the recipe included gravy. For those of us not eating this dish in a coal mine, I think gravy would have really helped enhance the recipe as the inside was really moist, but the outer crust could use something to dip in. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Too Dry . . . crust was sticky and didn't cover the dish well. Won't be serving again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Love this. Being South African I had these growing up made by my Nana then my mother and I now make it for my family. The only thing I add is a huge teaspoon of butter before I fold the pastry over the meat, onion and potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a great recipe. I have looked for this for years. My grandparents use to make this for me as a child and i loved them. They also came to Canada for Cornwall. For a special treat they would put my initial on the top with the extra pastry. Thanks you brought back many great memories. I will be making this for my children and grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
very easy to make, and quick, I added leftover fried rice to mine and it came out delish!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Chef John’s Torta di Riso

See how to make a savory rice pie with leeks and spinach.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States