Great Gram's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Texture is great so is flavour i use 1 tsp vanilla and 1 1/2 almond extract. The kids love these and can be made with ease for little hands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love this recipe!!!! Perfect for adding frosting(not to sweet). Loved them plain or with sprinkles! Definitely keeping this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I prepared this recipe as listed. They tasted bland and were not sweet enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Really good, really soft. I made a 1/2 batch of these cookies and I wish I would have made a full batch. Based on the reviews I increased the vanilla from 1 tsp for the half batch to 1 1/2tsp. I also added 2 extra TBS of sugar and a 1/4 tsp of almond extract. No biscuit flavor here. We also sprinkled sugar on the top. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
My 3 year old granddaughter spotted the sugar "sprinkles" in my pantry and it was, "Grandma, we make cookies!?" Uh oh, how to make sugar cookies in a few minutes without refrigeration time? These cookies filled the bill to a "S"or Sprinkle!! She helped me make the entire batch of dough in my stand mixer. But the main event is sprinking the dough with all colors of SPRINKLES!! Not the world's best cookie, but certainly tasty enough!! Makes a lot!! Also liked the other suggestions about dividing the dough and giving each batch a different flavor. Will try the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These are like the cookies my depression-era grandmother made. They are not too sweet and are a bit on the biscuit-y side, taste wise. I adored them. It made a ton of cookies (I think I got 6 or seven dozen out of the recipe) and I divided up the dough and added lemon to some of it, cinnamon to some and coconut to some. It was like having a cookie variety in one recipe! I will make this recipe regularly now and I cannot thank you enough for bringing a little taste of my grandma back to me! Your recipe was a wonderful gift to me. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These cookies are easy to make, but I would call them "scones" before I would call them "sugar cookies." They have the flavor of a sweet biscuit, rather than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2000
I loved the fact that these didn't have to chill before rolling out. The dough was very easy to handle. I wasn't thrilled with the overall flavor, but my husband liked them quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States