Great British Fry Up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
mmmMmm good! I left out black pudding...if my boyfriend wants it..he can cook it! lol. Great brekky, ty for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
A few things. It's important to use Heinz baked beans in a teal blue can. Also, get back bacon from the butcher if possible instead of strip bacon. I worked in the UK for just over a year and greatly miss three things: an english breakfast, a good gammon ham steak, and a pint of green king abbott ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have always appreciated the English breakfast, plenty of pork and especialy the baked beans. I like the American hash browns also. Unity is a great thing. I just wonder if you folks really need a recipe for a standard bacon/sausage/egg/toast breakfast. What's next? Cereal and milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jameson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
this was very yummy my whole family loved it ( well most of them did ) it was very easy i used Canadian bacon instead of sausage b/c i don't really like sausage and we also had pinto beans with it which i seasoned with seasoned salt i also put seasoned salt on the hash browns thanx cate83 for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elanore1D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Just like I remember after living in Yorkshire for 10 years!! However, I have never been able to find a good substitute for Lincolnshire sausage (my favorite!!!) on this side of the pond!!!! Fried bread is a must and I'm fortunate enough to be able to get Heinz baked beans and HP Sauce here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Yummy stuff! I could not fit it all into one pan so I used 2. I did the bacon, egg and mushrooms in one and the hash browns, sausage, tomato slices and red onion slice (I added that) in another. I forgot the bread slice in the picture, so oh well. Be sure to season things up with salt and pepper as you go along ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Well, this definitely is a "Great" American version of a "British Fry Up"! This was a nice change up for Sunday breakfast. I left out the oil and chose to fry everything in the grease produced from the sausage and bacon. Definitely not the "healthiest" dish so I wouldn't indulge in this often and while this recipe didn't include the Heinz baked beans I opted to leave them off my plate as a personal preference for "this side of the pond" and served it with coffee and OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Very accurate rendition of a British Fry Up! The hash browns are "chips" or french fries here in Yorkshire, and since in the US you don't have the Heinze version of baked beans, use pork-n-beans. What is missing is "Brown Sauce", the closest thing in the states would probably be a store brand of A-1 to dip the sausage, bacon, eggs and potato in...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim L Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Doncaster, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Rated it 4* because I changed it a bit. Instead of using oil, I just cooked everything in the bacon grease. Also, the second time I didnt cook the tomato, because I think it was better fresh. Instead of hashbrowns I made potatoes from this site. It's chopped red potatoes and onions cooked in a skillet with butter. That's it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lawn, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
nice to see english food on here that is actually food we eat ! but chips with breakfast not in my part of suffolk thats for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States