Great British Fry Up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Very accurate rendition of a British Fry Up! The hash browns are "chips" or french fries here in Yorkshire, and since in the US you don't have the Heinze version of baked beans, use pork-n-beans. What is missing is "Brown Sauce", the closest thing in the states would probably be a store brand of A-1 to dip the sausage, bacon, eggs and potato in...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim L Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Doncaster, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Delicious recipe. The British Fry-Up doesn't traditionally include hashbrowns; sometimes it's served with French Fries, but definitely not hashbrowns. In Northern Ireland, it is served with fried potato bread and soda bread. In other parts of the U.K., they use regular fried white bread (you'll need much more vegetable oil if you try this). Many health conscious Britons are now grilling (broiling) as much of this dish as possible, i.e., the sausage, bacon, tomatoes, breads. HP sauce is a must but ketchup is wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Fairly accurate UK recipe. Leave out the hash browns. Add lamb or veal kidney, fried bread and baked beans. I prefer a Portobella mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Queenstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Apart from the hash brown, this is pretty accurate. Our fry ups consist of sausage, bacon, tomato (whole canned will do at a push, though fresh is the way to go), mushrooms, egg (scrambled for me, fried for Husband), fried bread, and Heinz baked beans. I top my eggs with Heinz ketchup, and serve with a huge pot of steaming PG Tips. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
mmmMmm good! I left out black pudding...if my boyfriend wants it..he can cook it! lol. Great brekky, ty for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Just like I remember after living in Yorkshire for 10 years!! However, I have never been able to find a good substitute for Lincolnshire sausage (my favorite!!!) on this side of the pond!!!! Fried bread is a must and I'm fortunate enough to be able to get Heinz baked beans and HP Sauce here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
nice to see english food on here that is actually food we eat ! but chips with breakfast not in my part of suffolk thats for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Rated it 4* because I changed it a bit. Instead of using oil, I just cooked everything in the bacon grease. Also, the second time I didnt cook the tomato, because I think it was better fresh. Instead of hashbrowns I made potatoes from this site. It's chopped red potatoes and onions cooked in a skillet with butter. That's it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lawn, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Leave out the hash browns. Fry the bread in the bacon grease. Add black pudding or kidneys. Now your talking !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
A few things. It's important to use Heinz baked beans in a teal blue can. Also, get back bacon from the butcher if possible instead of strip bacon. I worked in the UK for just over a year and greatly miss three things: an english breakfast, a good gammon ham steak, and a pint of green king abbott ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States