Greasy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Tasty recipe but I made a few changes to cut down on the "grease" and fat. I used olive oil instead of butter and less Soy Sauce and I used the reduced sodium kind. Overall a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
AWESOME. Excellent use for a cheaper meat. Here's how I did it: -3 Skinless thighs (cut small parts off and ate as I was cooking! Yummy) -Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce -1/4 cup of lemon juice Med heat for browning garlic, high heat for browning meat once on each side to sear (don't add marinade yet), turn back down to med. Add marinade plus 1/4 cup of white wine. Continue flipping meat occasionally to keep it moist until cooked through. Remove meat (can place in oven on 180-200 to keep warm; won't be there long); turn heat up some. Stir sauce w/ fork or whisk to keep from burning. Reduce until it's a deep golden color and simmers easily. Pour over chicken and whatever else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This receipe was GREAT! I marinated chicken in soy sauce for about 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is a tasty, easy to do recipe. I made a couple additions. I like lemon so used about 4T lemon juice for the marinade with soy. After marinating 20min, I fried garlic in butter then immediately added the chicken only (no marinade, saved it for later) 3-4 min on each side, then sealed it in a casserole dish covered with aluminum foil then baked to keep it juicy and avoid burning. While the chicken baked, I used the same pan with leftover butter and garlic and pour the marinade in the pan. I added quark (cross between cream cheese and sour cream) and a bit of pepper. I poured it over the lemony chicken and served noodles on the side with more of this sauce. The sauce was in perfect harmony with the chicken and with the noodles tasted like a lemonish stroganoff. What a fantastic and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanferkel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was a good recipe. My hubby, who claims to not like ckn thighs, loved this. It was as others stated pretty salty, and I used low sodium soy sauce. I took the advice of another review and added some honey and that seemed to do a great job of making taste less salty. I added maybe a little over a TBL spoon of honey. I will make this again. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
My 5 kids will eat this every time. LOVE it! We make this twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was very good, but a bit too salty. I would make it next time with low sodium soy sauce. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it was still pretty greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I have made this twice and as written it is too salty and with the skin it is way too greasy for me. But it is called greasy chicken. Tonight I took the skin off, cut the butter to 1 tbl., used lite soy sauce and added a squeeze of 1/4 fresh orange in place of the other tbl of lemon juice.(sometime too much lemon juice starts to cook the chicken and orange seemed more mild) I let the thighs sit in soy and 1 tbl lemon juice about 1/2 hour. Melted butter, added garlic, then added the thighs with however much marinade was on them. I let it cook over med heat and they sort of simmered for about 25 min.(I turned a few times) The sauce cooked down and I added the little bit of marinade left. I added a little honey in because it was still a little too salty for me. They turned out very sticky and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
We all loved the flavor but I had to be so so careful that the sauce didn't burn. I'd make it again, though...probably with a few alterations of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYCEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was super easy and tasty. My boyfriend and I liked it a lot, but then again we love thighs almost any kind of way. I will be making it again because of the ease! oh, and not too greasy, and I did not cook in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEYKEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States