Gravy Baked Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
After reading some previous reviews, I was a little skeptical about trying this recipe. I decided to go ahead and try it and make some of my own modifications. I was cooking for everyone at my house as well as my parents, so I used 7 boneless chops that I seasoned with Old Bay. I cut up a small onion, 1/2 of a small can of mushrooms and 3 cloves of garlic. I sauteed that mixture and the chops in a little olive oil until they were brown on both sides. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and mixed that with 2/3 cup of milk, the sauteed garlic, onions and mushrooms and omitted the water completely. Baked it all uncovered at 350 for 45 minutes. The gravy ended up being the best gravy I think I have ever tasted and it wasn't too thick or thin. Served it with mashed potatoes and corn. I will definitely be making this one often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
890 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
WOW. Can I give it ten stars? Reviewers said it needed a bit of perking up so I fiddled just a tad. The sauted chops were topped with an onion slice. I added a package of pork gravy mix and a cup of water to the soup, and some Old Bay and onion powder, then poured it over the chops to bake. You could cut them with a fork, and we were licking the bones to get the last of the gravy. Absolutely the best baked pork chops I've ever had, this is definitely going in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I've been making a version of this recipe for years and will continue to do so because it is delicious. I use cream of chicken soup (we don't like cream of mushroom soup) and just add a little water to make the gravy. I also add a pinch of garlic and season all. I ususally don't bake it, just simmer it slow in a skillet. This is great comfort food when served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The first time I made these, followed directions except after browning pork chops, I sauteed onion and fresh mushrooms in pan drippings. It was tasty but a little dry and chewy. I made these the second time using my basic pork chop philosophy, low and slow. I again sauteed onion and fresh mushrooms, added a little Kitchen Bouquet (for color and a little additional flavor) and cooked the chops at 275 degrees for 3 hours. They were extremely tender and flavorful, no knife required, and JUST DELICIOUS. This is definitely a keeper now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Recipe is pretty good base to start from. Even better with sauteed mushrooms, onions, and Tbs. of Worcestire sauce added into the sauce. Just be sure to adjust your salt accordingly as the Worcestire is plenty salty in itself. Additionally, 4 or 5 potatoes thinly sliced then sauteed in tbs. butter for a few mins. with Tbs. or so of fresh chopped parsley and tsp. or so minced garlic.... then layer these on the bottom of your greased casserole before adding the chops. Increase the milk in this recipe to 1 and 1/4 cups to accomodate for the potato addition and pour over chops and potatoes. Cover, then bake for 30 mins. Remove cover and continue baking until potatoes are done to fork tender (approx. additional 15-20 mins.) You could also shake n' bake your pork chops prior to browning for an additional flare. Sprinkle dish with remaining bread crumbs or shake n' bake mixture for some crunchiness. Serves great with steamed fresh green beans or asparagus and a loaf of fresh bread or dinner rolls. This is an easy yet wonderfully tasty comfort meal. And the recipe is flexible enough for adjusting to your own family's tastes and tradition. Fast and troublefree enough to make during a busy weeknight that tastes like you've been slaving at the stove for hours. Definitely a keeper for the recipe box. Would also work well with chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I've been baking this for years and yes, it is easy and delicious. It also works well with Cream of Chicken soup if you have a non=muchroom eater in the family as I do. Any cream soup works and you can also change the seasonings to keeo it new. Try it!! My mom used to make this and that's where I got it. I think she said it was an old girl scout recipe. Good luck. Yopu can't mess this one up, I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I sauteed the chops in olive oil and garlic first then used 2 cans of (reduced fat) cream of mushroom (as we love thick gravy) and omitted the water and milk. This is a keeper and a regular dish in our house now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I was searching for a "different" way of preparing pork chops and walah! This recipe turned out one of the best dinners I've made for my hubby and it was just TOO easy to make!! The only changes I followed was adding garlic powder, omitting the water, and cooking for less time(since I only made 2 not as thick chops). Excellent served with brown rice and biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
my husband is really picky when it comes to new things other than boring meat and veg but when i served this up he totally loved it and went back for seconds i served it with the oven roasted potatoes featured in potatoes of this site and green beans and baby carrots, it looked like something out of a restaurant and it was absolutely delicious too!!!! GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Can not go wrong with this recipe. I did added roasted garlic mushroom soup just because we love that flavor. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States