Gravlox Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was very good. Firstly, if you changed the spelling of the name of this recipe to "grav lax" or "gravad lax" more people could find it and make it! I made it first time exactly as per recipe. Second time with less salt, and it was much better. I used 2/3 cup of sugar to 1/3 cup of salt - for 4 pound of salmon. The pepper, vodka and dill were perfect. Also you can leave it in the fridge to cure for up to 5 days. Delicious, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Very Easy to make. To get rid of saltiness I rinsed completely in water, patted dry then put back in fridge for an hour befoe serving. Came out perfect. So much cheaper (and tstier) than buying from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnbora

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I found the finished salmon way overly salty. I rinsed thoroughly and patted dry, which resulted in a very tasty dish. However, it also lost its dill and pepper when I rinsed. Other than re-applying, any suggestions? Can the amount of salt be cut without compromising the curing process?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have made this for several years now....I always litely rinse the salt off....enough of the taste goes into the fish....I make a big batch ...we eat some at Thanksgiving, and then freeze some for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb from Northfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this without the vodka. Home cured Gravlox are wonderful. Will make again. Thank you Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
excellent!!! melt in your mouth....jist cure at least 48-56 hours depending how thick the fillet is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I'm a salt freak, so the saltyness of this doesn't bother me so much, it was very good. If you don't like too much of the salty flavor I would suggest putting the salmon in cold water for an hour or so after curing which will dissolve some of the salt. I served each piece on a cucumber slice, with goat cheese, and a few mini capers on top each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Great recipe, you can mix it up a lot using trout fillets instead of salmon, juniper infused gin (or sloe gin) or tequila instead of vodka, white sugar instead of brown. It is always a hit at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Outstanding Recipe. I have made it several times. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My brother made this at Christmas. It was excellant and addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Valentine’s Salmon

Make a romantic baked salmon dinner for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States