Grated Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Finally someone on here with a proper recipe!! However, we use ham broth to boil in. It gives AWESOME flavor!!! Also, if you happen to have a meat grinder try grating the potatoes with the medium grinding plate. It works like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My first attempt was a fail, but I think they would be great if I do a couple of things differently. Next time, I will actually remove the grated potatoes and pat them dry before adding the flour. I'll definitely be using more flour than the recipe calls for, and I will drop the dumplings into hard-boiling water to form and then finish by browning in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Foell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Growing up as a Norwegian on a North Dakota farm, this was served in our family a lot! The only addition was to grate a small onion into the potatoes before adding the flour. I was told that the Swedish dumplings are from cooked potatoes and the Norwegians made them from raw. I don't know the actual country of origin for this recipe but it sure brings back memories from my childhood. Sliced and fried in butter for the next days breakfast is unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiivike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I wanted these dumplings so bad yesterday. I made them out of memory, but they turned out too soft. My mother used to make these with cabbage instead of the usual noodles which I preferred. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will now make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Klobuchar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have been wanting these for years. But never had a recipe. My wife never heard of them. I loved these when I was a child.But if I wanted them my mom made me grate the potatoes. It was worth it. I got the left overs to fry in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Oh wow! This is exactly how my family makes dumplings. We serve them every New Years day with braised red cabbage, sauerkraut, caraway pork roast and gravy. Other recipes I've seen always call for eggs or mashed potatoes. They don't know what they are missing with these things :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Muhlhan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Sounds a lot like a family recipe I've tried to replicate. Saw my elders do it once. They grated potatoes added wheat flour and rye and put a cube of salt pork in the middle. They added the flour until the ball wouldn't seep through their fingers and then put in a broth they made with salted lambs breast. My husband jokes it looks like wallpaper paste which it does. We called this Kumpa. Never saw this any recipes. It is Norwegian based. Any body know the full recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe popped up by searching a dish my friends Ma used to make called ruskaballs.The potatos were ground in a meat grinder and cream of tartar was involved and the taters werent drained.Salt pork or bacon was stuck in the middle of the balls and then boiled.They were cabbage roll size and really dense.They were of Norwegian descent.Tried this one with added egg and the bacon and bigger they were good.If anybody knows about the ruskaball name Ive always been curious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
My mom used to make these using grated potatoes, onion, egg, dried bread cubed, parsley, salt and pepper and flour. I have tried several times to duplicate, but altho the taste was there, they fell apart in the boiling water. Why?? If anyone has an answer I would appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe is very similar to my Father-inlaw's recipe. He would grate the potato on the finest grater (I use a food processor). He also added an egg to hold it together. He would add just enough flour to keep it from running, salt & pepper, and than he would scoop it with a knife into boiling water. He would only boil them for a couple of minutes, and then drain. We usually had these fried with sauerkraut, but it is also good fried in butter or bacon fat & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States