Grasshopper Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My grandmother served Grasshopper Pie every year at Christmas. When we lost her, we lost the recipe. My mother has been trying various recipes for years trying to recreate it, but it hasn't gone so well. I offered to try this year and used this recipe. Success! This was it! Based on several reviews, I lowered the alcohol slightly (by about 1/4) and I didn't find it overwhelming. I think the full amount would have been fine. As it was with mine, there was just a hint of alcohol. I am knocking off a star for the pre-made pie crust part of the recipe. That is unthinkable. Those things taste like dirt. Crush 24 Oreos + 6 Tablespoons melted butter, bake at 350 F for 10 minutes. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
When I was a kid, my mother used to make this pie for me every year for my birthday. I thought it was the best pie in the world. When I lost her, I lost the reciepe with her. For years I have wondered if I'll ever get the chance to have that same version again. This receipe is it!!! I can't begin to tell you how thrilled I was. My only suggestion is that you make the crust yourself instead of purchasing a pre-made one. (The reciepe for the home made crust can be found on the Grasshopper I receipe page.) I can't thank you enough Celia and allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was the first grasshopper pie that I have had and neither I or the family were that impressed. I reduced the alchohol content, but it was still too strong. Plus, it didn't have much flavor (besides alchohol) or zip. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
In my opinion there is too much liquer in the pie filling and it is overwhelming. I probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Very nice. I froze mine instead of chilling it, and I added slightly less liqueur, just a personal preference. This is a foolproof recipe and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was a good recipe, but I think the Creme de Menthe was too strong. I might use less, maybe half, next time. I used crushed Andes mints on the top and crushed Oreos and that was pretty good. The only thing I might change is the strength of the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
YUMMY!!! I haven't found anyone that doesn't lovr this cool refreshing pie I make in in summer, fall, winter, and spring it is a year round favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I fixed this recipe years ago and los it. I'm glad I could find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States