Grasshopper Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Last week I was out to dinner with my father in law, who saw grasshopper pie on the menu and fell in love!! Apparently he used to eat in when he was younger and hadn't seen it in years! Once he tasted it, he said it wasn't quite like he remembered, so that put me on the search for a pie he'd like. This one fit the bill--he took the whole pie home with him after having a piece for dessert! For people worried about the alcohol content, you can buy alcohol free green creme de menthe at the grocery store, which is what I did. I used the same amount called for in the recipe and added a splash of vodka, since we wanted the alcohol, but it is easily made alcohol free for those who prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This pie tastes excellent! Just like you would find in a top-noche gourmet restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2000
We loved this recipe! We make it every year for St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Wowie! This is a dandy. I took so many liberties with the recipe that it should have flopped. It turned out fantastic. Make this one. You won't be sorry. You could cut down on the hooch if you wanted, but why would you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this pie for Easter and it was great. I love grasshopper pie but never made it before. Very happy with the way it turned out. Two tips for success making it - 1) You must FREEZE the pie before serving it. The recipe states to "chill" it but it needs to be in the freezer to set. I froze mine overnight. 2) The food coloring is not necessary. The green from the creme de menth gives the pie the perfect "mint" green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
It was a huge hit at my work st' patrick's day feast. I wouldn't give the kid's the alcohol though. For us grown ups only! (it's kind of strong)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this for my boyfriends birthday because it was his favorite from childhood and he said it was "better than mom's". I used Newman's O's for the crust and baked an extra 5 minutes. This is an easy, light, perfectly balanced recipe I will definitely make this pie again and again. Aimee P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm in the process of making this in memory of a very dear Irish friend that made one for our work group every year. As I stood over the marshmallows and milk, melting them, I wondered.... Has anyone used Marshmallow Puff or the marshmallow in a jar for this? Seems it would be much easier. Just don't know how marshmallow puff/cream to use and if it's as good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I have made this pie three times and it has turned out perfectly each time. It's light, fluffy, and a perfect summer desert. I personally do not find that it has an overly boozy flavor. I've gotten lots of complements from everyone I've shared it with! Most recently, I made a raspberry variation- I left out the Creme de Menthe, and pureed an equivalent of fresh raspberries with the Creme de Cocoa. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I don't understand why people rate recipes and sy they are wonderful but...........and then change everything. It is then not the same recipe. This recipe is perfect just as it is! I made it for company without trying it out first and everyone wanted the recipe, even my boss who says he does not usually like Grasshopper Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States