Grasshopper Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Last week I was out to dinner with my father in law, who saw grasshopper pie on the menu and fell in love!! Apparently he used to eat in when he was younger and hadn't seen it in years! Once he tasted it, he said it wasn't quite like he remembered, so that put me on the search for a pie he'd like. This one fit the bill--he took the whole pie home with him after having a piece for dessert! For people worried about the alcohol content, you can buy alcohol free green creme de menthe at the grocery store, which is what I did. I used the same amount called for in the recipe and added a splash of vodka, since we wanted the alcohol, but it is easily made alcohol free for those who prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Wowie! This is a dandy. I took so many liberties with the recipe that it should have flopped. It turned out fantastic. Make this one. You won't be sorry. You could cut down on the hooch if you wanted, but why would you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Our guests loved this. Slightly boozy which my kids pointed out right away. I'm knocking one point off, however, as the filling has a "whipped" trait which is not really to my liking. That said, will make again. PS I bought the Oreo pie crust and its dark chocolate-ness was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this pie for Easter and it was great. I love grasshopper pie but never made it before. Very happy with the way it turned out. Two tips for success making it - 1) You must FREEZE the pie before serving it. The recipe states to "chill" it but it needs to be in the freezer to set. I froze mine overnight. 2) The food coloring is not necessary. The green from the creme de menth gives the pie the perfect "mint" green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I don't understand why people rate recipes and sy they are wonderful but...........and then change everything. It is then not the same recipe. This recipe is perfect just as it is! I made it for company without trying it out first and everyone wanted the recipe, even my boss who says he does not usually like Grasshopper Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Did the filling currdle for anyone else when you added the whipped cream to the creme de menthe/cocao and marshmallow mixture? i think it may have had to do with the fact that after i made the filling i realized the crust was still really hot from the oven and so i waited until it cooled to fill it, leaving the bowl of filling sitting out in the warm kitchen for about ten minutes while I waited. Does anyone know how to prevent the currdeling from happening again? because the filling tasted amazing before the textural change and I think it would have made a really good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
I found the alcohol to be too strong in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This pie tastes excellent! Just like you would find in a top-noche gourmet restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm in the process of making this in memory of a very dear Irish friend that made one for our work group every year. As I stood over the marshmallows and milk, melting them, I wondered.... Has anyone used Marshmallow Puff or the marshmallow in a jar for this? Seems it would be much easier. Just don't know how marshmallow puff/cream to use and if it's as good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is my husband's favorite birthday dessert. I wanted to find a different recipe that used less processed ingredients. The only thing I changed was to use green Creme de Menthe and omit the food coloring. Very enjoyable pie — light and not as super sweet as other recipes I've tried. My husband now has a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States