Grasshopper Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2000
We loved this recipe! We make it every year for St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
It was a huge hit at my work st' patrick's day feast. I wouldn't give the kid's the alcohol though. For us grown ups only! (it's kind of strong)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
I found the alcohol to be too strong in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This pie tastes excellent! Just like you would find in a top-noche gourmet restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Wowie! This is a dandy. I took so many liberties with the recipe that it should have flopped. It turned out fantastic. Make this one. You won't be sorry. You could cut down on the hooch if you wanted, but why would you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Last week I was out to dinner with my father in law, who saw grasshopper pie on the menu and fell in love!! Apparently he used to eat in when he was younger and hadn't seen it in years! Once he tasted it, he said it wasn't quite like he remembered, so that put me on the search for a pie he'd like. This one fit the bill--he took the whole pie home with him after having a piece for dessert! For people worried about the alcohol content, you can buy alcohol free green creme de menthe at the grocery store, which is what I did. I used the same amount called for in the recipe and added a splash of vodka, since we wanted the alcohol, but it is easily made alcohol free for those who prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Did the filling currdle for anyone else when you added the whipped cream to the creme de menthe/cocao and marshmallow mixture? i think it may have had to do with the fact that after i made the filling i realized the crust was still really hot from the oven and so i waited until it cooled to fill it, leaving the bowl of filling sitting out in the warm kitchen for about ten minutes while I waited. Does anyone know how to prevent the currdeling from happening again? because the filling tasted amazing before the textural change and I think it would have made a really good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Our guests loved this. Slightly boozy which my kids pointed out right away. I'm knocking one point off, however, as the filling has a "whipped" trait which is not really to my liking. That said, will make again. PS I bought the Oreo pie crust and its dark chocolate-ness was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Three stars because as good as it taste it never set. That being said people were eating it with a spoon right out of the pie plate. I probably wouldn't waste my time and booze trying to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States