Grasshopper Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
SO good!! I used a premade pie crust & it was great, I imagine that a homemade one would be spectacular. As per recommendations, I cut the creme de menthe down to a little over half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
utiliser du lait et cacao au lieu de la boisson au chocolat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I have made this pie three times and it has turned out perfectly each time. It's light, fluffy, and a perfect summer desert. I personally do not find that it has an overly boozy flavor. I've gotten lots of complements from everyone I've shared it with! Most recently, I made a raspberry variation- I left out the Creme de Menthe, and pureed an equivalent of fresh raspberries with the Creme de Cocoa. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm in the process of making this in memory of a very dear Irish friend that made one for our work group every year. As I stood over the marshmallows and milk, melting them, I wondered.... Has anyone used Marshmallow Puff or the marshmallow in a jar for this? Seems it would be much easier. Just don't know how marshmallow puff/cream to use and if it's as good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this for my boyfriends birthday because it was his favorite from childhood and he said it was "better than mom's". I used Newman's O's for the crust and baked an extra 5 minutes. This is an easy, light, perfectly balanced recipe I will definitely make this pie again and again. Aimee P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
It was good but it was runny don't know what caused that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is my husband's favorite birthday dessert. I wanted to find a different recipe that used less processed ingredients. The only thing I changed was to use green Creme de Menthe and omit the food coloring. Very enjoyable pie — light and not as super sweet as other recipes I've tried. My husband now has a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I don't understand why people rate recipes and sy they are wonderful but...........and then change everything. It is then not the same recipe. This recipe is perfect just as it is! I made it for company without trying it out first and everyone wanted the recipe, even my boss who says he does not usually like Grasshopper Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My only comment is to stress that you buy (clear) creme de cacao. The recipe is great, and simple to do, & is a nice dessert to do before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this pie for Easter and it was great. I love grasshopper pie but never made it before. Very happy with the way it turned out. Two tips for success making it - 1) You must FREEZE the pie before serving it. The recipe states to "chill" it but it needs to be in the freezer to set. I froze mine overnight. 2) The food coloring is not necessary. The green from the creme de menth gives the pie the perfect "mint" green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States