Grapefruit Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe is fantastic, and thanks to other reviews, I did make some changes, although the biggest change was due to only having 1 egg in the house . I doubled the juice and zest and used butter, not shortening; then I cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups, cut the soda to 1/2 tsp., just a sprinkle of salt (because the butter was salted), and used 1 tsp. ginger. Baked them in a 6x10 pan for about 20 minutes, testing with a toothpick. They turned out totally perfect; and the ginger, in my opinion, is a much better complement than cinnamon. A nice, clean taste that showcases the grapefruit-ginger combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
These cake bars are very good. I used the zest of a whole grapefruit, but the grapefruit flavor was still very subtle. To add a bit more, I took the suggestion of another reviewer and made an icing for the cake out of additional grapefruit juice and powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I loved this! I followed what a few others had posted and used 6 tablespoons of grapefruit juice. I also made my frosting with grapefruit juice, cream cheese, vanilla, and powdered sugar. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My hubby loved these. I think though that the cooking time was a little off. At 30 minutes I checked and the middle was still very jiggly. I had to give them an additional 10 minutes. I decorated them with the "Really Good Frosting" recipe from this site. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These are delicious! The nice grapefruit "tang" somehow blends with the brown sugar and cinnamon, but doesn't get lost. I slathered these bars with a simple powdered sugar based frosting flavored with fresh grapefruit juice. Fine recipe, so glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I thought that this was basically amazing.. I didnt put any icing on it because I didnt feel like putting it on so I didnt. Also when making it i put in to much butter so then i just added a bit of all the ingredients to even it off basically, it worked quiet well. I enjoyed eating it, basically amazing.. it was my first time using any sort of fruit zest and it was a great experience.. AMAZING basically.. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torkelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This makes a gorgeous cake!! Basic enough to make a few variations in flavour-orange, lemon, chocolate etc. I made it as written with only one sub, I used butter instead of shortening. The grapefruit flavour is subtle but gives the cake a little twang. Thanks for the recipe, this will be a regular for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was delicious. I used 4 T. of grapefruit juice, and the zest of a whole grapefruit. I iced it with powdered sugar mixed with grapefruit juice to a drizzling consistency, with about 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. Then I sprinkled it with shredded sweetened coconut! It was great, like dense cake. I'm craving another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
These were surprisingly interesting. I took the suggestion of others and doubled the grapefruit juice. The batter was quite lumpy (which had me worried) but the "bars" (I would call them cake) came out extremely moist and yummy, with no lumps. I am also going to make a grapefruit frosting (grapefruit juice, cream cheese, powdered sugar, vanilla, milk) to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really nice base, but I'm not liking the grapfruit in it. I ended up substituting some applesauce for shortening (1/2 C Apple, 1/4C Shortening) I also added some of the pulp. Maybe I put too much grapefruit flavor to it. Cake came out beautifully moist and fluffy with a nice crunch to the top. I also used an 8x8 pan and lowered the temp to 325 and baked for probably double time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States