Grapefruit Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
My family and I spend part of the year in Paraguay where we have a long and abundant grapefruit (pomelo) season. I made these cake-like bars four times one week because they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These are delicious! The nice grapefruit "tang" somehow blends with the brown sugar and cinnamon, but doesn't get lost. I slathered these bars with a simple powdered sugar based frosting flavored with fresh grapefruit juice. Fine recipe, so glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I thought that this was basically amazing.. I didnt put any icing on it because I didnt feel like putting it on so I didnt. Also when making it i put in to much butter so then i just added a bit of all the ingredients to even it off basically, it worked quiet well. I enjoyed eating it, basically amazing.. it was my first time using any sort of fruit zest and it was a great experience.. AMAZING basically.. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torkelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Ok, to start with, this is a cake, not bars. Next, the cook time is WAY too short -at first I thought that maybe they were supposed to be a little raw, like brownies, and then they'd get hard, like a brownie, in the fridge. But no, they were RAW raw, not gooey-good raw. SO we put them back in the over for at least an extra 20 minutes (and my oven usually errs on the hot side!) and then they were pretty good. In my books, not really worth the fat in them, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This makes a gorgeous cake!! Basic enough to make a few variations in flavour-orange, lemon, chocolate etc. I made it as written with only one sub, I used butter instead of shortening. The grapefruit flavour is subtle but gives the cake a little twang. Thanks for the recipe, this will be a regular for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was delicious. I used 4 T. of grapefruit juice, and the zest of a whole grapefruit. I iced it with powdered sugar mixed with grapefruit juice to a drizzling consistency, with about 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. Then I sprinkled it with shredded sweetened coconut! It was great, like dense cake. I'm craving another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
These cake bars are very good. I used the zest of a whole grapefruit, but the grapefruit flavor was still very subtle. To add a bit more, I took the suggestion of another reviewer and made an icing for the cake out of additional grapefruit juice and powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I will never make them again they have an awful raw taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I had a grapefruit that I needed something to do with and this was so easy to make. Pretty tasty, next time I'll probably double the juice and zest for a bigger kick. I used powdered sugar and juice for a thin icing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Tasty, but there wasn't much of a grapefruit flavor even with an entire grapefruit in the batter and another one as icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States