Grant's Famous Midnight Grill BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe without the ginger(didn't have any) and used crown royal instead of scotch whiskey. This sauce was really good, but it was a little too spicy.I will definitely make again n cut back on the spices. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
We have been using this recipe for 10 years,its great. Most of the time we use the Kraft original or honey. For the whiskey we use Old Grand Dad. Also we simmer this sauce for about 40 minutes let it cool and bottle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce in this recipe. I used onion powder instead of onion salt and brown sugar instead of white/granulated. I made no other changes. This turned out well--the spices all complemented each other well and the amount of red pepper flake was perfect. I missed the flavor that comes when a barbeque sauce is simmered on the stove, I think I would do that next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've been using this for years with rave reviews. Great with anything, but a killer sauce on pulled pork and ribs. I use Masterpiece as a base. I substitute a smooth bourbon or rum for the scotch and omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was great! I used a cheapo bottle of bbq sauce and this was the perfect recipe to make it a high quality and home made tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great idea for a more complex sauce. will use again! Followed exactly with KC masterpeice original sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is excellent. I didn't use bbq sauce to make bbq sauce though! I made my own sauce which included chopped apple, onion, and garlic. Then mixed in these ingredients. Superb, I dont use the recipe any longer just through stuff in. I'll never it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
my Dad is a self-proclaimed Rib critic. I used this recipie with the Amazing rib recipe and it was a huge hit. I'm not even a BBQ sauce person at all but i have to admit it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
i really like what this recipe did for my bbq sauce. i don't like many bbq sauces because i don't care for the liquid smoke flavor. but i started with the jack daniels sauce and after refrigerating for a day, this was really good...it mellowed out the liquid smoke flavor and left a good spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I prebake ribs at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, covered in 2/3 cup water and 1/3 cup red wine vinegar. Double the sauce and grill on the barbecue and slather the sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States