Grant's Famous Midnight Grill BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce in this recipe. I used onion powder instead of onion salt and brown sugar instead of white/granulated. I made no other changes. This turned out well--the spices all complemented each other well and the amount of red pepper flake was perfect. I missed the flavor that comes when a barbeque sauce is simmered on the stove, I think I would do that next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This was a great recipe. I used a higher-quality bbq sauce (It was either Saz's or Corky's) and didn't add the whiskey as I don't generally like whiskey flavor. I've also been using spices bought at my local spice shop, making the a bit higher quality and fresher. My husband RAVED about this and used it on everything he could (chicken, ribs, mashed potatoes, rolls, I even caught him eating it straight out of the bowl at 2 AM). I asked how he liked it and he said it was fabulous, but could maybe use some whiskey (Impressive since he didn't know that it should have been in there, but hey, what do I know, I'm just the cook : - ) So, for next batch I'll get a small bottle of whiskey to try with it. ENJOY and THANK YOU GRANT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've been using this for years with rave reviews. Great with anything, but a killer sauce on pulled pork and ribs. I use Masterpiece as a base. I substitute a smooth bourbon or rum for the scotch and omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Great recipe Grant. I use this everytime I make pulled pork. My friends and family cant get enough of it. Even those that normally shy away from the spicy recipes. I find that the KC Masterpiece original makes a very good base for this. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
i really like what this recipe did for my bbq sauce. i don't like many bbq sauces because i don't care for the liquid smoke flavor. but i started with the jack daniels sauce and after refrigerating for a day, this was really good...it mellowed out the liquid smoke flavor and left a good spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
No need to make any changes to this one! It's one of my new favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Holy Moly!! Used this in combination with "Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce", as I didn't have a bottle sauce around. Didn't add sugar, but doubled ginger. Slowly brought to a boil, to burn off alcohol, and let boil/simmer for 30 minutes. Then let cool and put in fridge for 2 days prior to use. EXCELLENT! Will be using again. Used all in BBQ'ing chicken - doh! Next time will reserve some for dipping. Excellent work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Never again will I use store baught BBQ sauce. This was wonderful! I used it on my BBQ ribs. Everyone raved over it! Thank you!!!!...New post! This is the BEST BBQ sauce. I use it on my rib in the end. Everyone, loves coming to my house when I make my ribs. You have to try it! Grant, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
i would like to know what kind of bbq sauce you used as there are so many different kinds. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is excellent. I didn't use bbq sauce to make bbq sauce though! I made my own sauce which included chopped apple, onion, and garlic. Then mixed in these ingredients. Superb, I dont use the recipe any longer just through stuff in. I'll never it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States